Sunrisers Hyderabad was founded in 2012 by Kalanithi Maran of the SUN Group when the IPL terminated Deccan Chargers. Sunrisers Hyderabad hails from Hyderabad, Telangana, India, and its home ground is Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad, which has a capacity of 55,000. 

SRH was founded in 2012 and made its debut in 2013; it is owned by Sun TV Network and won the bid with ₹85.05 crores (US$11 million) per year for a five-year deal, replacing Deccan Charges as they went bankrupt.  

Sunrisers Hyderabad are renowned for their bowling as they have been praised for their ability to defend low totals. Australian player David Warner is the leading scorer of the team while Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the leading wicket-tacker of the team.

The SRH have been to two finals in IPL, and won only once against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2016 and lost another final to Chennai Super Kings in 2018. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL auction 2022

Sunrisers Hyderabad had a budget of 68 crores during their IPL auction, and they earlier spent 22 crores out of 68 to retain their three most X factor players. The team retained Kane Williamson for 14 crores, Abdul Samad for 4 crores and Umran Malik for 4 crores. 

While the rest they spent buying a total of 20 players, some of the key players were Washington Sundar, Nicholas Pooran, T Natarajan, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Nicholas Pooran was the standout player who was the team’s top pick at 10.75 crores. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2022 schedule 

Date Match Time Venue 
March 29, 2022SRH vs RR7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
April 4, 2022SRH vs LSG7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 9, 2022CSK vs SRH3:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 11, 2022SRH vs GT7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 15, 2022SRH vs KKR7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 17, 2022PBKS vs SRH3:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 23, 2022RCB vs SRH7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 27, 2022GT vs SRH7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 1, 2022SRH vs CSk7:30 PMMCA Stadium. 
May 5, 2022DC vs SRH7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
May 8, 2022SRH vs RCB3:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 14, 2022KKR vs SRH7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
May 17, 2022MI vs SRH7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 22, 2022SRH vs PBKS7:30 PMWankhede Stadium

Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2022 full-team squad

Squad: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar, Nicholas Pooran, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Kartik Tyagi, Shreyas Gopal, J Suchith, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Romario Shepherd, R Samarth, Shashank Singh, Saurabh Dubey, Vishnu Vinod, Glenn Phillips, Fazalhaq Farooqi.

Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2022 strongest XI

Kane Williamson (C), Abishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Rahul Tripathi, Nicholas Pooran, Abdul Samad, Washinghton Sundar, Marco Jansen, Bhuvneshwar kumar, Natarajan, Umran Malik

Sunrisers Hyderabad have done decent purchasing during the auction now their focus remains on the tournament as they will play their first game on March 29 2022. In Previous season they have been moderate, having finished eighth place in the league table. 

They have the best bowlers at their disposal but will need to work on the batting department. It looks like they have an unbalanced squad, and they may face trouble when reaching the latter stages of the tournament.