Kolkata Knight Riders are one of the popular franchises of IPL owned by the most prominent Bollywood actors Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta. The team represents the Popular city of West Bengal Kolkata and plays at the iconic stadium Eden Gardens. 

When IPL was first established, eight teams were put up on auction. One of them was KKR which was bought by famous Bollywood actors Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla, and her spouse Jay Mehta for $75.09 million, equal to approximately ₹2.98 billion during the time.

The team has been represented by many legendary players such as Sourav Ganguly, Brendon McCullum, Ricky Ponting, Brad Hodge, Salman Butt, and wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha, Shoaib Akhtar, Brett Lee, Yusuf Pathan, and Gautam Gambhir. 

Kolkata Knight Riders hold the record for most longest winning streak by an Indian team in the T20s. They first tasted IPL glory in 2012, defeating one of the dominating teams of IPL Chennai Super Kings. Later, they repeated the same feat in 2014, seeing off Kings XI Punjab in the final. KKR’s leading scorer is Gautam Gambhir and wicket-taker is Sunil Narine.

Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2022 auction 

Kolkata Knight Rider had a budget of 90 crores and used 42 crores to retain their four crucial players in the squad for IPL 2022. Andre Russel was retained for 12 crores, Varun Chakravarthy for 8 crores, Venkatesh Iyer for 8 crores, and Sunil Narine for 6 crores. 

While the rest they used on to buy 17 players for the upcoming season. They purchased some famous players, like Shreyas Iyer, Nitish Rana, Pat Cummins, and Umesh Yadav to bolster their squad. 

Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2022 schedule

Date MatchTime (IST)Venue
March 26, 2022CSK vs KKR7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
March 30, 2022RCB vs KKR7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 1, 2022KKR vs PBKS7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
April 6, 2022KKR vs MI7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
April 10, 2022KKR vs DC3:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 15, 2022SRH vs KKR7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 18, 2022RR vs KKR7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 23, 2022KKR vs GJ3:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 28, 2022DC vs KKR7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 2, 2022KKR vs RR7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 7, 2022LSG vs KKR3:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
May 9, 2022MI vs KKR7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
May 14, 2022KKR vs SRH7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
May 18, 2022KKR vs LSG7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium

 Kolkata Knight Riders 22-man squad for IPL 2022

Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine, Shreyas Iyer, Pat Cummins, Nitish Rana, Shivam Mavi, Sheldon Jackson, Ajinkya Rahane, Rinku Singh, Anukul Roy, Rasikh Dar, Chamika Karunaratne, Baba Indrajith, Ashok Sharma, Pratham Singh, Abhijeet Tomar, Sam Billings, Alex Hales, Ramesh Kumar, Mohammed Nabi, Aman Khan, Umesh Yadav.

Strongest XI Kolkata Knight Riders can deploy in the games

Alex Hales, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana, Shreyas Iyer (C), Sheldon Jackson (WK), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy, Umesh Yadav

Kolkata Knight Riders have a robust squad, and this season they can do wonder; they can go deep into this tournament. Having won IPL twice and losing the final as well, Kolkata Knight Riders’ players have great composure who can play under immense pressure. The likes of Ajinkya Rahane, Pat Cummins, Shreyas Iyer, Andre Russel, and Umesh Jhadav are always up for challenges.