Delhi Capitals are a franchise cricket team based out in Delhi; they were founded in 2008 as Delhi Daredevils and were bought by the company GMR Group for US$84 million. 

Later in 2018, GMR sold its 50% of stakes to Delhi Daredevils to JSW Sports for ₹550 crores (US$73 million).

In 2018 Delhi Daredevils were renamed to Delhi Capitals; when asked why the team has renamed, team’s co-owner and Chairman Parth Jindal said;

“Delhi is the country’s power center, it is the capital, therefore, the name Delhi Capitals.”

Co-owner Kiran Kumar Grandhi said, “The new name symbolizes Delhi’s identity, and just like the city, we are aiming to be the center of all action going forward.”

 Delhi Capitals is captained by India’s one of the young talents Rishabh Pant. Delhi Capitals have a joint owner, the GMR Group and the JSW Group. The team’s home ground is Arun Jaitely, situated in Delhi. 

However, Delhi Capitals have not won an IPL trophy and have reached the final only once in their playing career. 

Delhi Capitals in 2022 auction  

Delhi Capitals have purchased 20 players in IPL 2022 auction, having retained Rishabh Pant for 1.6 crores, Axar Patel for 9 crores, Prithvi Shaw for 7.5 crores, Anrich Nortje for 6.5 crores, and key player David Warner, who was one of their main target for 6.25 crores but instead they purchased him in 10 crores as his value crossed later. 

While other star players Delhi Capitals were purchased Mitchell Marsh, Shardul Thakur, Mustafizur Rahman, and Kuldeep Yadav. 

Since Delhi Capitals managed to buy David Warner now, they will be least worried about their opening batsmen as Warner and Prithvi Shaw will lead the batting line. 

It was the Delhi Capitals' priority to retain Shaw as the most prominent players on the team. 

Delhi Capitals schedule for IPL 2022

Date Match Time (IST)Venue 
March 27, 2022DC vs MI3:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 2, 2022GT vs DC7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
April 7, 2022LSG vs DC7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
April 10, 2022KKR vs DC3:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
April 16, 2022DC vs RCB7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
April 20, 2022DC vs PBKS7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
April 22, 2022DC vs RR7:30 PMMCA Stadium, Pune
April 28, 2022DC vs KKR7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 1, 2022DC vs LSG7:30 PMWankhede Stadium
May 5, 2022DC vs SRH7:30 PMBrabourne – CCI
May 8, 2022CSK vs DC7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
May 11, 2022RR vs DC7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
May 16, 2022PBKS vs DC7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
May 21, 2022MI vs DC7:30 PMWankhede Stadium

 Delhi Capitals Squad for IPL 2022

Rishabh Pant (C), Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Shardul Thakur, Mustafizur Rahman, Kuldeep Yadav, Ashwin Hebbar, Abhishek Sharma, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, KS Bharat, Mandeep Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Chetan Sakariya, Lalit Yadav, Ripal Patel, Yash Dhull, Rovman Powell, Pravin Dubey, Lungi Ngidi, Vicky Ostwal, Sarfaraz Khan

Delhi Capitals strongest squad for IPL 2022

David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant (C&WK), Sarfaraz Khan, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Chetan Sakariya, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje

This time, the stakes are high as much is expected from Delhi Capitals as they have been regarded second-favorites to win IPL this season. However, it all depends on how players will perform in the field. 

Delhi have never won IPL since they were founded and also lacks a bit of experience because only a few players in this squad have been playing for years, and the newcomers will have tremendous pressure.