Finally, Indian fans could expect some cricketing action when IPL kick starts on September 19. Eight teams will fight for a place in the play-offs before the title round. Out of a maximum of 200 players in the season, only 22 players will make it to the final, and then only XI will hold the trophy in their hands. And the XI who would end up on the losing side would rue their chances and try harder next season.

In fact, there have been a few players who have been on the losing finalists on quite a few occasions. Here is a list of players who have been part of 3 or more losing finals.

MS Dhoni - 6

MS Dhoni (Image Credits: IPLT20)

The Chennai Super Kings skipper holds the record of being part of as many as 6 IPL losing finals, 5 for CSK as captain and 1 for Rising Pune Supergiant as a player. He was part of losing finals for CSK in 2008 to RR, 2012 to KKR, 2013 to MI, 2015 to MI, 2017 to MI, 2019 to MI. He has lost three IPL finals as skipper against MI, and 1 as a player against MI. But MS Dhoni has also won 3 IPL titles for CSK in 2010, 2011, and 2018. 

Suresh Raina – 5 

Suresh Raina IPL
Suresh Raina (Image Credits: CricketCountry)

Suresh Raina has been with CSK since the first IPL, and hence, he along with Dhoni has been part of all the losing finals for CSK. But he has lost 1 IPL final less than Dhoni as he wasn’t in the Rising Pune Supergiant team in 2017 IPL. Raina lost 5 IPL finals for CSK in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2019.

Ravindra Jadeja – 4

Ravindra Jadeja IPL
Ravindra Jadeja (Image Credits: CricketCircle)

CSK bought Jadeja before the 2012 IPL and lost that season. It lost a couple of seasons more in 2013 and 2015 and was considered a jinx as CSK never won an IPL title once he was drafted into the squad. However, the jinx was broken in 2018 IPL, when CSK defeated SRH on the back of Shane Watson’s brilliant ton in the final. But again, CSK lost another final in 2019, with Jadeja in the squad, totalling to 4 losing finals with him.

Virat Kohli - 3 

Virat Kohli IPL
Virat Kohli (Image Credits: Sportzwiki)

Kohli has only played for RCB in his IPL career but has never ever ended up on the winning side, losing three IPL finals, including 1 as skipper. He lost the first final to Deccan Chargers in 2009 IPL, CSK in 2011 IPL, and SRH in 2016 IPL as skipper. 

Photo courtesy: IPLT20