IPL is set to start by September 19. It has seen 12 seasons so far, with many legendary players participating in it. Some legends such as Sachin Tendulkar has been lucky to have been part of a winning IPL campaign, but some have not been so lucky.

Cricwizz takes a look at a few legendary players who have missed out on winning an IPL title.

1) Anil Kumble

Anil Kumble IPL
Anil Kumble (Image Credits: Sport360)

The former Indian captain was considered too old for IPL. But he unexpectedly got the chance to lead Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2009 after Kevin Pietersen had to leave the squad for international duty. Kumble inspired his team to the final of the tournament, where RCB narrowly lost to Deccan Chargers. But Kumble’s performance stood throughout the tournament, especially in the final when he took 4/16 and won man of the match to become the only player to win this award as a losing finalist.

2) Rahul Dravid

Rahul Dravid IPL
Rahul Dravid (Image Credits: Cricgem)

Dravid first played for RCB in IPL 2008. But he then moved to Rajasthan Royals where he led them brilliantly. He even played match-winning innings for the team and inspired the group with his never-say-die attitude. But he too like Kumble ended up as a legend without an IPL trophy. He came close to winning Champions League crown for Royals in 2013, but his team lost to Mumbai Indians. 

3) Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag IPL
Virender Sehwag (Image Credits: CricketNation)

Sehwag has lit IPL numerous times as Delhi Daredevils opener with his explosive knocks and has even led the team to play-offs in 2009 IPL. But the IPL title eluded him. He has been part of winning World Cup XI, World T20 XI, but a place in winning IPL campaign has deserted him and he retired without one. 

4) Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli IPL
Virat Kohli (Image Credits: SportsRush)

He is too in the league of legendary cricketers who have never won an IPL title. In fact, he has been part of 3 IPL finals but ended up on the losing side on all the three occasions. The most heartbreaking loss for him came in 2016 IPL when the team narrowly lost the final to SRH by 8 runs despite a great comeback after being down in the bottom of the table to earn a spot in the title round. Since then, RCB is yet to make into the playoffs again.

5) Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle IPL
Chris Gayle (Image Credits: OutlookIndia)

The West Indian has been among the highest run-getter in IPL, but unfortunately, he has never won an IPL title, despite being part of 2 IPL finals for RCB. He and Kohli threatened to win the 2016 IPL title, after compiling a century stand in just over 10 overs, but it was not meant to be, and their wait for IPL glory continues. Gayle has also played for KKR before and is now playing for Kings XI Punjab in 2020 IPL. 

Cover Courtesy: RR's social media page