IPL 2020 is set to kickstart with a clash between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings on Saturday. It is a repeat of last year's final. So, who has won all the IPL opener encounters so far? Or, what has happened so far in IPL openers? Cricwizz takes a look. 

1. IPL 2008 - KKR beat RCB by 140 runs

 IPL 2008 - KKR vs RCB   CSK
 IPL 2008 - KKR vs RCB (Picture credits - Sportstar)

This match had set the tone for the rest of IPL 2008. Kolkata Knight Riders’ opener Brendon McCullum slammed 73-ball 158 not out with 10 fours and 13 sixes to set the stage on fire and provide great entertainment to the fans. RCB was then bowled out for 82 to lose by a record margin of 140 runs. 

2. IPL 2009 - MI beat CSK by 19 runs

IPL 2009 - MI vs CSK  CSK
IPL 2009 - MI vs CSK 

This IPL season was held in South Africa. Mumbai was put in to bat, and made a competitive score of 165/7, with Sachin Tendulkar top-scoring with 59 not out. CSK were then restricted to 146/7 to lose the match by 19 runs. Sachin was declared man of the match. 

3. IPL 2010 - KKR beat DC by 11 runs 

IPL 2010 - KKR vs DC  CSK
IPL 2010 - KKR vs DC (Picture credits: Cricket.Yahoo)

From this season, the last season’s winner was given the honor to play the opening match. Deccan Chargers, last season’s winner, played the opening match against KKR, who batted first and made 161/4, with Angelo Mathews top-scoring with 65 not out. Deccan Chargers were then restricted to 150/7 to lose the match by 11 runs. 

4. IPL 2011 - CSK beat KKR by 2 runs

IPL 2011 - CSK vs KKR  CSK
IPL 2011 - CSK vs KKR (Picture credits: The Telegraph)

CSK, the last season’s champion, faced KKR in the opening match and won it by just 2 runs. CSK made 153/4, with Srikkanth Anirudha top-scoring with 64. CSK managed to restrict KKR for 151/7. Anirudha was the man of the match.

5. IPL 2012 - MI beat CSK by 8 wickets 

IPL 2012 - MI vs CSK  CSK
IPL 2012 - MI vs CSK (Picture credits - Cricket Country)

CSK has been the only team to defend their title so far. So, they were again part of the opening game in the 2012 season. They played Mumbai in the opener. CSK were bowled out for 112 before Mumbai overhauled the target with 8 wickets to spare. Richard Levi was the top-scorer for Mumbai with 35-ball 50 and was named man of the match.

6. IPL 2013 - KKR beat DD by 6 wickets

 IPL 2013 - KKR vs DC  CSK
 IPL 2013 - KKR vs DC 

Last season’s winner KKR hosted Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2013 opener. They chased down a target of 129 with 6 wickets to spare. Sunil Narine of KKR was named man of the match for his 4/13.

7. IPL 2014 - KKR beat MI by 41 runs

IPL 2014 - KKR vs MI   CSK
IPL 2014 - KKR vs MI (Picture credits - CricFooty)

Defending champions Mumbai Indians played KKR in the opening match. Jacques Kallis scored 72 in KKR’s total of 163/5. KKR restricted Mumbai for 122/7 to win the match by 41 runs. Kallis was named man of the match.

8. IPL 2015 - KKR beat MI by 7 wickets

IPL 2015 - KKR vs MI  CSK
IPL 2015 - KKR vs MI (Picture credits - India.com)

Despite Rohit Sharma hitting 98 not out, Mumbai Indians could just manage 168/3 against defending champions KKR, who chased down the target easily with 9 balls to spare. Morne Morkel of KKR was named man of the match for his 2/18.

9. IPL 2016 - RPS beat MI by 9 wickets

IPL 2016 - RPS vs MI  CSK
IPL 2016 - RPS vs MI (Picture credits - IPLT20.com)

Mumbai Indians faced another defeat in the opening match of their title defense in 2016. They were humbled by Rising Pune Supergiant by 9 wickets, with Ajinkya Rahane leading a successful chase of 126 with 66 not out.

10. IPL 2017 - SRH beat RCB by 35 runs

IPL 2017 - SRH vs RCB  CSK
IPL 2017 - SRH vs RCB (Picture credits; Zee News) 

IPL 2017 opener was a repeat of last season’s final, with defending champions SRH taking on finalists RCB. SRH triumphed again, beating RCB by 35 runs, with Yuvraj Singh named man of the match for his 27-ball 62.

11. IPL 2018 - CSK beat MI by 1 wicket

IPL 2018 - CSK vs MI  CSK
IPL 2018 - CSK vs MI (Picture credits - India TV News)

Mumbai faced their old rival in CSK in their title defense opener. Mumbai was cruising at one stage, having reduced CSK to 118/8 in 17th over but Dwayne Bravo’s counter-attacking innings of 30-ball 68 with 3 fours and 7 sixes spoiled another IPL opener in Mumbai's title defense.

12. IPL 2019 - CSK beat RCB by 7 wickets

IPL 2019 - CSK vs RCB  CSK
IPL 2019 - CSK vs RCB (Picture credits - Outlook India)

This was one of the most one-sided IPL openers. CSK bowled out RCB for just 70 with Harbhajan Singh taking 3/20. CSK chased down the target with 7 wickets to spare. 

Photo courtesy: IPLT20