IPL openers set the tone for the tournament. Hence, if there is a cracker of a contest in the opener, it paves the way for an entertaining tournament. Just like how Brendon McCullum’s 158 not out in IPL 2008 opener had not only set the tone for the tournament but set a benchmark for other seasons to follow. Cricwizz takes a look at a few interesting statistics on IPL openers over the past 12 seasons. 

Jinx for Mumbai Indians: Mumbai Indians have never won their title defense opener. In their 2014 title defense opener, they lost to KKR. In their 2016 title defense opener, they lost to RPS, and again to CSK in 2018 IPL opener.

In their 3 title defense openers, CSK have won 2 and lost 1. They won against KKR in 2011 IPL opener, but lost to MI in 2018 IPL opener, and won against RCB in IPL 2019 opener.

KKR made the highest score in IPL opener - 222/3 against RCB in 2008 IPL.

Brendon McCullum IPL
Brendon McCullum scored 158* in the very first match of the IPL

RCB has made the lowest score in IPL opener – 70 all out against CSK in IPL 2019 opener.

Lowest margin of win: 

CSK have recorded both the lowest margin of a win by a run and a wicket

IPL 2011 - CSK beat KKR by 2 runs

IPL 2018 - CSK beat MI by 1 wicket

Biggest margin of victory: 

IPL 2008 - KKR beat RCB by 140 runs – It is the 3rd biggest margin of win ever in IPL history.

IPL 2016 - RPS beat MI by 9 wickets

Ajinkya Rahane IPL
Ajinkya Rahane scored a brillant 66 to guide his team to a 9 wicket win

Most appearances in IPL openers

KKR and MI have appeared in most IPL openers – 6.

KKR have won 5 and lost 1. 

MI have won only 2 and lost 4 IPL openers.

Best batting performance in IPL openers: KKR’s Brendon McCullum’s 158 not against RCB in IPL 2008.

Best bowling performance in IPL openers: KKR’s Sunil Narine’s 4/13 against Delhi Daredevils in 2013 IPL opener.

Cover Credits: IPLT20