Team India bounced back strongly to take the lead against the West Indies in the 5-match T20I series. The teams will now lock horns in the 4th match of the series and winning for the Indians would mean that West Indies will be dealt with another series defeat at home. 

After failing to make a significant contribution after being sent out as an opener in the 2nd T20I, the flamboyant, Suryakumar Yadav ensured he made the headlines by playing a match-winning knock of 76 off 44 balls. 

India was dealt with a huge blow in the form of their skipper Rohit Sharma, who retired hurt after scoring 11 runs, however, as per the latest reports he has recovered from the back spasms and is likely to feature in this encounter.

West Indies definitely have been showcasing a much better performance in the shortest format compared to their ODI performance, however, the Men in Maroon are missing out on a quality bowling attack that can restrict a side like a team India. It would be interesting to see what kind of approach the Windies will take in a match that is do-or-die. 

Can Rohit Sharma continue his winning streak as the skipper? Or will the West Indies show form of resistance to take the series to what could be an enthralling decider?

Match timings

Match Toss Time: 19:30 IST (14:00 GMT)

Match Start Time: 20:00 IST (14:30 GMT)

Match Venue: Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad

Head to Head

Matches played: 23, West Indies: 7, India: 15, N/R: 1

Last 5 meetings: West Indies: 1, India: 4

Weather conditions and pitch

WI vs IND weather

Team News

The home side did show some resistance and they will be persisting to feature the same playing combination as they seem to have gelled well together. The form of Odean Smith has been but concerning and he is unlikely to make the cut once again. The venue is known to be of good assistance to the pacers and it would be a tough choice to make between Drakes and Hayden Walsh.

It is good news for the Indian supporters as their skipper has been deemed fit to play and that would mean that the Men in Blue are likely to feature the same playing Xl as of the 3rd T20I.

Probable playing Xl

West Indies (WI): Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Devon Thomas (wk), Rovman Powell, Dominic Drakes, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy

India (IND): Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh

Must- picks

The Indian batter, Suryakumar Yadav will be oozing with confidence as he stormed his way to the ICC T20I batter’s ranking. He is just two points away from overtaking Pakistan’s skipper Babar Azam. The 28-year-old all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who was recently announced as the permanent VC captain of team India in T20I, will be looking to justify the decision. 

West Indies opener Kyle Mayers and all-rounder Jason Holder are our two other must-picks for this all-important encounter.

WI vs IND fantasy team

WI vs IND fantasy team
Cricwizz fantasy team

Captain and Vice-captain Picks

Suryakumar Yadav Hardik Pandya WI vs IND
Suryakumar Yadav (C) & Hardika Pandya (Vc)


West Indies’ batting has been good enough, however, it is their lack of experience in the bowling department that has been letting them down. Team India looks a much better side on paper and with a wide range of talents to choose from they look good to seal the series in their favor. Given, the change in venue and if the West Indies’ bowlers can come out stronger, we could expect a down-the-wire encounter.

Cricwizz predicts India to win the 4th T20I and lead the series, 3-1.


All the information on Cricwizz is published in good faith and for general information purposes only. The website does not make any warranties about the completeness, reliability, and accuracy of this information. The website will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website.