India will play Pakistan in their 2021 World T20 opener on Sunday. It will be the first time the two nations will play after the 2019 ODI World Cup. With bilateral contests suspended between the two nations, fans can only look forward to these multi-nation contests to see India clash with Pakistan on the cricket field. Ahead of the much-voltage match between the arch-rivals.

Cricwizz takes a look at the unique stats on India vs Pakistan matches in World Cup.

# 5 wins, 0 losses  In 5 World T20 match against Pakistan, India has won all 5, including one bowl-out. In 7 50-overs World Cup matches against Pakistan, India has won all 7 of them. 

# The 2021 World T20 match between India and Pakistan will be the first time an Indian captain other than MS Dhoni will lead the Men in Blue in the history of this tournament. Pakistan will be fielding their fourth skipper in Babar Azam in the 2021 World T20 match against India.

# In both the 2007 World matches between India and Pakistan, Misbah-ul-Haq was the last batsman dismissed. And both the time, Misbah was out while going for the winning runs.

# Joginder Sharma, who bowled the last over in the 2007 World T20 final, against Pakistan never played another international match for India. 

# In the 3 World T20 matches Virat Kohli has played against Pakistan, he aggregates 169 runs without being dismissed. He has won 2 Man of the Match awards in 3 games.

# Mohammad Asif was the man of the match in the 2007 World T20 league match against India despite his team losing the bowl out after the game was tied. He took 4/18 in that match.

# In 3 World T20 matches against Pakistan, Gautam Gambhir has one fifty and 2 ducks. His only fifty – 75 against Pakistan came in the 2007 World T20 final. Only 1 player has made a higher individual score than Gauti in India vs Pakistan. It is Virat Kohli who made 78 not out in the 2012 World T20.

# Yusuf Pathan played only 1 match in the 2007 World T20. It was the final against Pakistan after regular opener Virender Sehwag got injured. He scored 15 in the match and bowled 1 over for 5 runs.

# Only 1 player from India’s winning XI of the 2007 World T20 final will feature in the 2021 World T20 India vs Pakistan clash. It is Rohit Sharma, who scored 30 not out off 16 balls in that match. Another player from that XI – MS Dhoni – will be part of the 2021 World T20 clash but as a mentor of Team India.

From the 2007 World T20 final between India and Pakistan, only Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez are part of the Pakistan squad of the 2021 World T20. Malik was the captain of Pakistan in the 2007 World T20.

Follow Cricwizz on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter for more updates. Stay tuned with Cricwizz for the best cricket content.