In cricket, there have been brothers who have played Test cricket, and ODI cricket together. There have been siblings such as the Waugh brothers who turned up for Australia, the Amarnath brothers for India, and many more. In IPL too, there have been brothers who are playing in the same team or have locked horns against each other for a different franchise. Cricwizz takes a look at the complete list of brothers in IPL.

The Hussey brothers

Michael Hussey was the more successful brother in IPL, having played a pivot role in CSK winning the 2011 title. Michael and Murali Vijay formed a consistent opening pair for CSK in the team’s successful title defense in 2011. Michael was even the orange cap holder in 2013 IPL. 

Mike Hussey David Hussey IPL
From left: Mike Hussey and David Hussey (Image Credits: Cricshots)

David is more famous for his juggling catch at the boundary line during an IPL match and had set a benchmark for boundary catches. David played for KKR, Kings XI Punjab, and CSK but could not match up to his brother’s heroics.

 MatchesRunsStrike Rate100s50sWickets
Michael Hussey591977122.641150
David Hussey641322122.97058

The Pandya brothers

Hardik Pandya Krunal Pandya MI IPL
Hardik and Krunal Pandya - Photo courtesy: BCCI

Krunal Pandya and Hardik Pandya remain the core members of Mumbai Indians XI and have single-handedly and together won many matches for their team. Hardik’s performance for Mumbai paved the way for Indian team selection before Krunal followed suit. 

While Hardik is a regular in limited-overs cricket for India, Krunal is yet to cement his place in the national squad. Together, the Pandya brothers form great T20 stars, and Mumbai benefits from their electric performances on the field.

 MatchesRunsStrike Rate50sWickets
Hardik (MI)811362158.92442
Krunal (MI)721007142.03147


The Marsh brothers

Shaun Marsh had set the inaugural IPL season on fire with his batting exploits in 2008. He was the orange cap winner in that tournament, having amassed 616 runs @ 68.44 with 1 ton and 5 fifties in 11 matches. However, Marsh could not repeat his 2008 heroics and was out of IPL after the 2017 season. 

Mitchell Marsh Shaun Marsh IPL
The Marsh Brothers (Image Credits: CricketAustralia)

Mitchell played for four franchises in IPL – Deccan Chargers, Pune Warriors India, Rising Pune Supergiant, and Sunrisers Hyderabad. But he has remained an under-achiever in IPL and pulled out of the 2021 season due to the strict bio-secure bubble. 

 MatchesRunsStrike Rate100s50sWickets
Shaun Marsh712477132.741200
Mitchell Marsh21225114.210020

The Curran brothers

Tom Curran Sam Curran IPL
Tom Curran and Sam Curran  - Photo courtesy: BCCI

Sam Curran has been a regular in CSK XI since the 2020 season and has played a few cameos with bat and ball. Captain MS Dhoni has great faith in Sam and continues to back him. 

Meanwhile, Sam’s elder brother Tom is playing for his third franchise in Delhi Capitals in 2021, having already been part of the KKR squad in 2018, and Rajasthan Royals in 2019-2020. But unlike Sam, Tom is yet to play that decisive knock or spell that would etch his name in IPL record books. Recently, the two face each other when CSK played Delhi in IPL 2021 second game.

 MatchesRunsStrike Rate100s50sWickets
Sam Curran24315149.280223
Tom Curran11106117.770110

The Chahar brothers

Rahul Chahar Deepak Chahar IPL
Rahul Chahar and Deepak Chahar - Photo courtesy: Insidesports

Deepak Chahar came into the limelight when he opened the bowling for CSK and was an instant hit. He also had a great start to his T20I career but has hit a roadblock since with India being spoilt for choices in the pace bowling unit. However, Deepak continues to be the main new ball bowler for CSK and was part of their winning campaign in 2018. 

Rahul has had better success with Mumbai Indians, being part of their last two winning campaigns. He continues to impress and has been preferred over other veteran spinners in the squad.               

 MatchesRunsStrike Rate100s50sWickets
Deepak Chahar4978139.280045
Rahul Chahar32171000030

Cover Credits: IPLT20