As one of most awaited cricket leagues is now set to kick start on 19th of September. The tournament begins with the two heavyweights- Chennai Super kings and Mumbai Indians taking on each other. The IPL 2020 will also mark the longest season of IPL, scheduled to be played over a span of 53 days. 

The Opening encounter is set to take place at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. This is only the second time the league is set to take place outside India. As the CSK captain MS Dhoni recently announced his retirement from International Cricket, all eyes will be on the former World Cup winning Indian captain.

The last time the two teams met were at the grand finals of the IPL 2019. The match went down as one of the best thrillers in the history of IPL as it was only one run that could separate the teams, as Mumbai Indians eventually managed to win their record fourth title.

Match Toss Time: 17:30 Local (19:00 IST)

Match Start time: 18:00 Local (19:30 IST)

Match Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Weather Conditions:

The weather is said to be clear with temperatures reaching upto 32 degrees with average temperature around 30.


The pitch used in Sheikh Zayed Stadium is much similar to the pitches used in India. The pitch and conditions are likely to favor the spinners. The average score batting first at Abu Dhabi is 160-170. The toss could play a vital role if due comes into play later in the game.

Team news: 

Chennai Super Kings

Deepak Chahar has been tested negative of the virus and is now fit to play, which means he is likely to make it to the playing Xl. With both Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh pulling out of the tournament, Piyush is likely to make it to the starting line-up.

Mumbai Indians

There are no reported injuries in the Mumbai Indians Campaign. Though the management is likely to have a tough time in choosing between Jayant Yadav and Dhawal Kulkarni.

Probable Playing Xl:

Chennai Super Kings-  Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (C&WK), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Piyush Chawla, Imran Tahir. 

Mumbai indians- Rohit Sharma (Captain), Quinton de Kock, Ishan Kishan (Wk), Surya Kumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah,Trent Boult.

MI vs CSK Fantasy Team:

Quinton De Kock(C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Faf du Plessis,Ambati Rayudu, Suryakumar Yadav, Dwayne Bravo, Hardik Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Imran Tahir, Rahul Chahar.

CSK vs MI fantasy Team

Captain Picks: Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis

Quinton de Kock

Vice Captain Picks: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya

Rohit Sharma


All the information on Cricwizz is published in good faith and for general information purpose only. The website does not make any warranties about the completeness, reliability and accuracy of this information. The website will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website.