After a lot of speculations and obstacles, the much awaited schedule for the grand T20 league has finally been released by the IPL governing body on the afternoon of Sunday. As per the reports the defending champions Mumbai Indians take on the last season’s runners up Chennai Super Kings in the opener. 

It was also confirmed there are no much changes to the schedule from the tentative schedule which was announced earlier by the body. The tournament is scheduled to commence on September 19 with the Grand finals to be played on 10 of November. 

"The season will kickstart on 19th September in Abu Dhabi with a blockbuster clash between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings”- started the IPL body official.

IPL 2020
IPL schedule (Image Credits: IPLT20)

The venues for the playoffs and the finals are said to be announced on another day. The tournament opener is scheduled to take place in Abu Dhabi with Dubai hosting their first match on the 20th of september in which Delhi Capitals will be taking on Kings Xl Punjab followed by the high octane match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The tournament is scheduled to take place in the three busiest states of UAE namely- Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi. Sharjah is set to conduct their first match on the 22nd of September in which Rajasthan Royals take on MS Dhoni and Co. 

The Dream 11 IPL 2020 is scheduled to be the longest IPL edition ever, with the tournament spanning 53 days which will feature 10 double headers which are all scheduled for the weekends.

The time of the first match is decided to be played at 15:30 with the evening match to start at 19:30. The split up of venues being 24 matches to be held in Dubai, 20 in Abu Dhabi with Sharjah to host 12 encounters.

The IPL 2019 title was claimed by Mumbai Indians after a thriller of a final against Chennai Super Kings which they eventually managed to win by 1 run and claimed the record 4th title, which is the most by any team in the history of IPL breaking CSK’s record of three.

Cover Credits: IPLT20