Chennai Super Kings got the better of Mumbai Indians in IPL 2020 opener on Saturday. Mumbai were looking for a big total but lost way in the death overs. They were placed 124/5 in 15 overs but could manage just 38 runs in last 5 overs. CSK suffered a couple of early jolts, but a 115-run partnership between Faf du Plessis (58 not out) and Ambati Rayudu (71) paved the way for an easy win. Here are the stats from the matches.

Mumbai lost their fourth title defense opener in as many matches. They earlier lost their title defense opener in 2014, 2016, and 2018. 

Ambati Rayudu IPL
Ambati Rayudu scored a brillant 71 to take CSK over the line (Image Credits: IPLT20)

Mumbai have appeared in 7 IPL openers in 13 seasons  - the most by any team. They have lost 5 openers and won just 2. Co-incidentally, both their wins have come against CSK.

Mumbai have lost their last 8 opening matches in IPL since 2013. They have lost twice to CSK, KKR, RPS each, and once each to RCB and DC.

CSK have played 5 IPL openers, winning 3, and losing 2. Both their losses came against MI – 2009, 2012.

MS Dhoni has completed 100 catches now in IPL, the third person to do so after Suresh Raina (102) and Dinesh Karthik (109).

MS Dhoni completed 100 wins for CSK as captain in IPL. He has captained them in 161 matches, won 100, lost 60, and 1 no result. 

Piyush Chawla was the most economical bowler of the match, with 1/21 at 5 runs per over.

CSK outclassed Mumbai, which boasts of big hitters, in terms of boundaries and over boundaries. CSK got the ball across the ropes 21 times compared to 19 times by MI.

Ambati Rayudu’s 71 and Lungi Ngidi’s 3/38 were the outstanding batting and bowling performances of the match.

Saurabh Tiwary’s last IPL game was in 2017. He was chosen ahead of Ishan Kishan, but impressed with a knock of 42.

Cover Credits: CircleofCricket