After two enthralling playoff games, we are set to see the penultimate match of the IPL 2021 season as Delhi Capitals play Kolkata Knight Riders at Sharjah.

Delhi Capitals, the leaders in the group stage lost to Chennai Super Kings who then got a direct entry to the final, courtesy of a vintage cameo by MS Dhoni backed by Robin Uthappa and Ruturaj Gaikwad's fabulous partnership. For Kolkata, things could've gone haywire in both innings but Sunil Narine was the man responsible to turn the tide in his team's favor.

The game is set to be played at Sharjah, the same place where Kolkata beat Royal Challengers Bangalore, while Delhi played their last game in Dubai. Will that make a difference?

However, today our focus is on the head-to-head record between DC and KKR. Let's analyze their last five meetings in detail.

1) Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders (September 28, 2021)

Their last meeting was also at Sharjah and Kolkata were bowling first after winning the toss. Delhi scored 127/9 in 20 overs, with Steve Smith and Rishabh Pant scoring 39 each, while Shikhar Dhawan scored 24.

Despite the low target, Kolkata started decently but lost their way in the middle. Shubman Gill scored 30, while Nitish Rana scored an unbeaten 36 to see out the game.

Just like the Eliminator last night, Sunil Narine was again the influential factor for Kolkata in their bowling and batting department as his 21 off 10 balls played a huge part in helping Kolkata to successfully cross the line.

You know what's coming next right? The score is DC:0 KKR: 1

2) Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders (April 29, 2021)

This time it was Delhi who had won the toss and were bowling first. As a result, Kolkata registered 154 on the board, with Shubman Gill's 43 and Andre Russell's unbeaten 45 the main contributors in the total.

Delhi were robust in their approach and took no chances. Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan provided the team with a phenomenal start and took the game away completely from Kolkata.

Prithvi Shaw Delhi Capitals IPL
Prithvi Shaw (Image Credits: IPLT20)

Shaw scored 82, while Dhawan 46. With most of the job done, Rishabh Pant scored 16 and then got dismissed but it was too late for Kolkata to come back as Delhi won the match by 7 wickets.

Well, the score is DC: 1 KKR: 1

3) Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders (October 24, 2020)

Delhi were bowling first after winning the toss. Kolkata lost an early wicket but despite KKR's troubled batting in the middle, Nitish Rana played an exceptional knock of 81, while Sunil Narine scored 64 in just 32 balls, helping Kolkata to finish with 194 on the board, a total that was well above-par.

Delhi needed a strong start but on the contrary, Delhi lost their opening pair very early, but Shreyas Iyer gave his best to keep his side in the game.

Iyer were going good at 47, with Pant on the other end by Varun Chakravarthy was present to spoil the party and he did it in style.

Chakravarthy picked five wickets, giving away just 20 runs, and got the game in Kolkata's favor single-handedly. Delhi's innings ended at 135 as they lost the match by 59 runs.

Kolkata is back in the lead! The score is DC:1 KKR:2

Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders (October 3, 2020)

KKR were bowling first after winning the toss and it turned out to be a dreadful decision as Delhi whacked Kolkata for 228 runs in 20 overs. Prithvi Shaw scored 66, Dhawan scored 26, but the highlight of the innings was yet to come.

Shreyas Iyer played a captain's knock, scoring an unbeaten 88 with Pant by his side, who scored 38. Kolkata wanted a great start, and they did, but the pressure of chasing over 10 per over played its part.

Gill scored 28, Rana scored 58, while Morgan scored 44, lastly, Rahul Tripathi scored 36. Kolkata didn't finish very far from the total, scoring 210/8 in 20 overs and the failure of the set batsmen to convert their 30s and 40s into 70s and 80s stopped them from winning.

Delhi won by 18 runs. Wow, the score is DC:2 KKR:2

Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders (April 12, 2019)

Delhi were the toss winners and were bowling first. Shubman Gill and Robin Uthappa batted well, scoring 65 and 28 respectively, while Russell scored 45 as Kolkata ended their innings with 178 on the board.

Delhi were struck with Prithvi Shaw's early wicket but Shikhar Dhawan's unbeaten 97 added with Rishabh Pant's 46 was enough to see Delhi cross the line with flying colors. Delhi won the match by 7 wickets.

So it ends with DC:3 KKR:2.

What do you think? Will Delhi play Chennai again in the final or will Kolkata make it 2 out of 2 in their quest for their third IPL title? Stay tuned with Cricwizz for the best cricket content.

Follow Cricwizz on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter for more updates.