Sunrisers Hyderabad have named David Warner as their captain for IPL 2020. Warner was the captain when SRH won the title in 2016. But Warner missed a season due to ball-tampering ban and Kane Williamson led the team subsequently. Williamson led SRH to IPL 2019 final where they lost to Chennai Super Kings.

Even when Warner returned in IPL 2020, Williamson continued to lead the team. But SRH have gone back to their old skipper and removed Williamson from the job.