A few days back, the BCCI announced the squads all three formats for India's Tour of Australia, which will begin from November 27th. The series comprises of three ODIs, three T20Is, and four Test Matches.

There were few names in the squads which were familiar while some were new. The fact that a new face like Varun Chakravarthy was also roped in, things only looked to get better. The board faced a lot of backlashes too as Suryakumar Yadav from Mumbai Indians was not included in any format despite his shining performances.

Rohit Sharma  bcci
Rohit Sharma (Picture credits: News18.com)

Well, there have been some updates to the list now. Rohit Sharma was included in the test squad by the All India Senior Selection Committee and have also granted him rest from white-ball cricket. BCCI also revealed that a team was monitoring Sharma's injury in UAE that caused him to miss four games for his IPL team.

The Indian skipper Virat Kohli will be returning home after the opening day-night Test in Adelaide after the BCCI granted him a paternity leave. Ajinkya Rahane will be leading the team in the rest of the red ball games. Sanju Samson has also been added as a back-up keeper in the ODI squad while Ishant Sharma will make his comeback in the test side as he will be fully fit to compete.

Virat Kohli  bcci
Virat Kohli (Picture credits: FirstSportz)

Time for some sad part. Varun Chakravarthy will not be featuring in the T20Is as he has sustained a shoulder injury, T Natarajan is named as his replacement. Kamlesh Nagarkoti will also not travel to Australia as he first needs to regulate his workload management. Moreover, Saha has sustained injuries to both his hamstrings and a call on his availability will be taken later.

Varun Chakravarthy was one of the standout performers in IPL 2020 and luck has not been on his side lately. However, T Natarajan should grab this opportunity with both hands as the yorker king will now have a fair chance to prove his worth in the squad. A good performance here could increase his chances of selections for future series.

Featured image credits - Cricbuzz