The 3rd ODI between the Australians and India is set to take place on Wednesday at the Manuka Oval in Canberra. The series is already sealed in favor of the Australians as they have managed to win both the matches played so far. The Indians on the other side will be hoping they can evade a humiliating white-wash.

Both matches were played at the same venue- Sydney Cricket Ground and as we know the pitch is Sydney has nothing to offer for the bowlers. The bowlers were taken all around the stadium as both the matches saw scores of 300 plus in both the innings. 

The 1st ODI saw the Aussies bat first and score a mammoth 374 with the help of centuries from the bat of their skipper Aaron Finch and former skipper Steve Smith. The Indians in reply fell short by 66 runs. The 2nd ODI saw the Australians better their score by 15 runs as they set the Men in Blue a mountainous target of 390 runs. Virat Kolhi and Co. in reply could only manage to reach 338 and once again fell well short of the target.

Though the series is sealed, the dead-rubber will have a lot to look forward to as the Indians will be trying to avoid the white-wash. The Aussies will be playing without their key batsman David Warner and will be hoping they can still come on top.

Can the Indians bounce back and avoid a white-wash? Or will the Aussies make it three in three and a register dominating 3-0 triumph?

Head to Head

Matches Played- 142, Australia- 80, India- 52, N/R- 10

Team News

The Aussies have a huge setback as they will be missing their key opener David Warner, who is ruled out of the 3rd ODI and the T20I series due to a groin injury. The extent of the injury is yet to be confirmed by the management. D’Arcy Short has been called in as his replacement and looks very likely the 30-year-old will be right into action the very next game. Australia will also be without the services of all-rounder Marcus Stoinis, who suffered a side injury during the 1st ODI, and Moises Henriques came in as his replacement.

Team India has not reported any injuries but has few issues with the form of the players. With Navdeep Saini not able to deliver the goods, it looks likely that India would try out the yorker specialist T. Natarajan, also keeping in mind the upcoming T20I series that starts the 4th of December. 

The 29-year-old pacer impressed the cricket world with his outstanding precision and consistency in bowling the Yorkers and if he manages to do the same in Australia, he will prove out to be a tough bowler for the Aussies to play.

Pitch and Conditions

The pitch at Manuka Oval is known to be a belter and the batsmen can expect to have a wonderful time as the ball comes onto the bat very well. The average score batting first in Manuka has been 310 and that means we are sure to have a high-scoring game once again. 

The team winning the toss should be looking to bat first as the team batting first has won 7 out of the total 9 games played here. The dew factor may not play a huge role as the humidity is on the lower side. It is also to be noted that the last ODI in Manuka Oval was played in 2016.

The conditions seem to be well in favor of cricket, with clear skies expected throughout with an exception of clouding during the late noon, nothing threatening to interrupt the game. The temperature is expected to hover in the 23-17 degree range and get cooler in the evening. Humidity is also on the lower side and expected to reach the 39 percent mark at peak.

Probable Playing Xl

Australia (Aus): Aaron Finch (c), D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Moises Henriques, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

India (Ind): Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli (c), Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Navdeep Saini/ T.Natarajan, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Key Battles

Steve Smith (Aus) vs Hardik Pandya (Ind)

Steve Smith Hardik Pandya India
Steve Smith (Aus) vs Hardik Pandya (Ind)

The former Australian skipper looks to be unstoppable as he has already scored two back to back match-winning centuries and looks in the form of his life. The 31-year-old will require some stopping and the Indian bowlers looked clueless while bowling to him except the all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who varied the pace and length and kept a check on the Aussie batsmen and also ended up picking up the prize wicket of Steve Smith.

Though the all-rounder himself declared that he was not fit enough to bowl yet after having to undergo back surgery. The 27-year-old did manage to bowl four tight overs for his team and also revealed that he would like to continue bowling a few overs in the upcoming games.

Can the former Aussie skipper keep piling on the runs? Or will the Indian all-rounder see the back of Smith?

Virat Kohli (Ind) vs Josh Hazlewood (Aus)

Virat Kohli vs Josh Hazlewood India
Virat Kohli (Ind) vs Josh Hazlewood (Aus)

Josh Hazlewood has been the barrier between India and win. The pacer surprised everyone by overtaking the lead bowlers- Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc. Hazlewood also has dismissed the Indian skipper two times in the two matches. The first match saw the 29-year-old getting the better of Kohli with a short ball which made the skipper cramp. The second ODI was a similar dismissal but this time it was the good length that got the better of him.

The captain will have to lead from the front if the Indians are to avoid an embarrassing whitewash and he will know that he will have to get the better of Hazlewood in this encounter.

Can the run machine dominate the in-form pacer? Or will the Aussie once make it a hattrick of dismissals?


The last two matches saw the Aussies come on top but the Indians did show a fight in both the encounters and managed to cross the 300- mark. Virat Kohli will have to think about making a few changes in the bowling line-up and also a few changes in the batting order is likely to do wonders for the Men in Blue. 

The Aussies will be without their key opener David Warner and star all-rounder Marcus Stoinis, this could be an opening for Team India to register their first win in this tour.

Cricwizz predicts India to win the match