The seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League is set to begin in a week from January 27. Two venues will be hosting the tournament, Karachi, and Lahore.

Six teams are set to battle for glory. Multan Sultans are the current title-holders, while Islamabad United are the most successful team in the tournament with two wins. The squads were finalized last month and there are several international players too who will be featuring in the tournament.

Players have been distinguished into six categories. Players can belong to the Platinum category, Diamond, Gold, Silver, Emerging, and Supplementary categories.

Also, Platinum players will earn between US$130,000-US$170,000. Similarly, you can find the range for the other categories.

Diamond: US$60,000-US$85,000

Gold: US$40,000-US$50,000

Silver: US$15,000-US$25,000

Emerging: US$7,500

Supplementary: US$50,000.

As per the official sources, “Each side will come to the draft with a maximum of eight-player retention from the last event. Following the finalization of player categories, the transfer and retention window is now officially open and will close on 10 December.”

In the Platinum Category, Lahore Qalandars will have the first pick, followed by Multan Sultans, Karachi Kings, Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi, and Quetta Gladiators in this order. 

Lahore Qalandars will have the first pick in the Diamond Category, followed by Peshawar Zalmi, Islamabad United, Quetta Gladiators, Karachi Kings Multan Sultans, and so on.

Lahore Qalandars will also have the first pick in the Gold Category, Peshawar Zalmi will have the first pick in the Silver Category, while Lahore Qalandars will have the first pick in Emerging Category and Quetta Gladiators will have the first pick in Supplementary Category.

Let's have a look at the squads.

Islamabad United

Asif Ali, Colin Munro, Hasan Ali (Platinum), Faheem Ashraf, Marchant De Lange, Shadab Khan (Brand Ambassador), Alex Hales (Mentor), Azam Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr (Gold), Danish Aziz, Mohammad Akhlaq, Paul Stirling, Reece Topley, Zafar Gohar (Silver), Mubasir Khan, Zeeshan Zameer (Emerging), Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Ather Mehmood (Supplementary)

Karachi Kings

Babar Azam, Chris Jordan, Imad Wasim (Platinum), Mohammad Amir, Lewis Gregory, Mohammad Nabi (Diamond), Joe Clarke (Brand Ambassador), Aamir Yamin, Sharjeel Khan ( Gold), Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Imran, Rohail Nazir, Tom Abell, Umaid Asif (Silver), Faisal Akram, Qasim Akram (Emerging), Romario Shepherd and Talha Ahsan (Supplementary)

Lahore Qalandars

Fakhar Zaman, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, (Platinum), Haris Rauf (Diamond, Brand Ambassador), David Wiese, Mohammad Hafeez (Diamond), Abdullah Shafique, Harry Brook, Phil Salt (Gold), Ahmed Daniyal, Dean Foxcroft, Sohail Akhtar, Kamran Ghulam, Zeeshan Ashraf (Silver), Maaz Khan, Zaman Khan (Emerging), Samit Patel and Syed Faridoum Mehmood (Supplementary)

Multan Sultans

Tim David, Mohammad Rizwan, Rilee Rossouw (Platinum), Imran Tahir (Mentor), Odean Smith (Diamond), Sohaib Maqsood (Diamond), Khushdil Shah (Brand Ambassador), Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood (Gold), Anwar Ali, Asif Afridi, Imran Khan Snr, Rumman Raees Rovman Powell (Silver), Aamer Azmat, Abbas Afridi (Emerging), Blessing Muzarabani and Ihsanullah (Supplementary)

Peshawar Zalmi

Hazratulah Zazai, Liam Livingstone, Wahab Riaz (Platinum), Haider Ali, Sherfane Rutherford, Shoaib Malik (Diamond), Hussain Talat (Gold), Saqib Mahmood (Gold, Brand Ambassador), Usman Qadir (Gold), Arshad Iqbal, Kamran Akmal (Mentor), Salman Irshad, Sameen Gul, Tom Kohler-Cadmore (Silver), Mohammad Aamer, Sirajuddin (Emerging), Ben Cutting and Mohammad Haris (Supplementary)

Quetta Gladiators

Jason Roy, James Vince, Sarfaraz Ahmed (Platinum), Iftikhar Ahmed, James Faulkner, Mohammad Nawaz (Diamond), Shahid Afridi (Mentor), Mohammad Hasnain (Brand Ambassador), Naseem Shah (Gold), Ben Duckett, Khurram Shehzad, Naveen-Ul-Haq, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal (Silver), Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Ashar Qureshi (Emerging), Noor Ahmed, Ahsan Ali (Supplementary)

# The final is set to be played on February 27, at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. In fact, all the knockout stage games will be played in Lahore.

# The first match of the PSL 2022 is between Karachi Kings and the defending champions Multan Sultans. 

Top overseas players in PSL 2022:

Rashid Khan, Liam Livingstone, Imran Tahir, Mohammad Nabi, Alex Hales, Paul Stirling, David Wiese, Sherfane Rutherford, David Miller, Carlos Braithwaite, Chris Gayle, Chris Jordan, Jason Roy, James Faulkner, Najibullah Zadran, and Samit Patil are some of the top foreign players that will be featuring in the PSL. 

That's all for today, stay tuned with Cricwizz for more updates.