Cricket has undergone massive changes since its first came into being. The game has constantly evolved with new rules being brought in, while old rules being discarded. But there are some rules that need to be discarded right away.
Cricwizz takes a look at five rules that need to be scrapped right away.
Doing away with rules that decide winners after the super over is tied
The 2019 World Cup final between England and New Zealand exposed a big loophole in ICC rules. After the match got tied, the super over got tied too. And England were declared winners as they have hit more boundaries in the match compared to New Zealand. The weird rule was slammed by all. Netizens even trolled the rule incessantly. New Zealand were heartbroken post a lost opportunity, while England were lucky to win the title. The general opinion was that New Zealand were done in with a harsh, and illogical rule when nothing separated the two teams in the final.
The various parametres to determine a winner if the super is tied should be done away it. Instead, why not have another super over to determine the final, just like how it happens in penalty shootouts in football.
Mankading has been under controversy since it was first effected by former Indian cricketer Vinoo Mankad. Since then, every mankading has been frowned upon and critics claim it brings the game into disrepute. Recently, R Ashwin’s mankading of Jos Buttler in IPL 2019 opened the debate again. Ashwin was accused of poor sportsman’s spirit for waiting for Buttler to move away from crease and then mankading him. However, ICC insists mankading is well within the rules of the game and there need not be any warning given to the batsman.
This mode of dismissal can be done away with. But if a player misuses the playing conditions by backing up too far, the on-field umpires can give him a warning. If the player does it repeatedly, he may be barred from batting from the match or few overs depending on the severity of the issue and the number of violations. Even the team which the player represents can be fined or ducked few runs for the violation.
In Feb 2018, an ODI between India and South Africa was marred with archaic playing rules. The match was stopped for lunch with India needing just two runs to win thanks to ICC’s rigid playing conditions. India were were at 117/1 in 18 overs, chasing 119 for a win, when the on-field umpires called for lunch. Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan came back after lunch to score the required two runs to win. Critics, commentators criticised the decision as ‘ridiculous’. Neither teams were happy with the decision.
Such stupid playing conditions should be scrapped or it should be flexible enough to make adjustments depending on match situations.
Review lost if the ball is pitched outside leg stump
In the case of LBW dismissals, if the ball is pitched outside the line of leg-stump, the batsman is deemed to be not out. But if the same situation is reviewed via DRS by the fielding team, the batsman is deemed not out but the review is lost. This is not fair on the part of the fielding team who will lose a review just because the ball is pitched outside the line of leg stump. Recently, in 2019 World Cup, Indian skipper Virat Kohli was seen pleading with umpires to let the team retain the review in such situations. But his plea fell on deaf ears.
If the team can retain the review on umpire’s call for LBW, then why not in such cases. Something to ponder about.
Batsmen running on overthrows after the ball hits them
Remember the 2019 World Cup final when a throw from the deep hits the bat of a diving Ben Stokes and the ball runs away for a four. England are awarded 6 runs on that delivery, although technically it would have been five runs. But that’s not the point.
Should run on overthrows be allowed if the ball hits the batsman? In the case of World Cup final, that four runs cost New Zealand a World Cup trophy as it was just pure luck that England got extra four runs and the match got tied.
Runs on such overthrows should not be allowed as it gives an unfair advantage to the batting team. But yes, if overthrow is due to the fielding side’s mistake, with the on-field batsmen not in play, then runs should be awarded.