The RCB vs MI clash in IPL 2019 was marred with controversy after Mumbai Indians’ Lasith Malinga bowled a no-ball on the last ball of the match and the umpires failed to notice it. RCB lost the match by 6 runs.
RCB fans and skipper Virat Kohli have every reason to feel aggrieved as they would feel they had a good chance of winning the match as they had AB de Villiers at the crease. They would feel the uncalled no-ball cost them the match.
There have been a few occasions in the past in limited-overs cricket when a no-ball has had a say in the outcome of the game. Cricwizz takes a look at a few instances when no-ball has dominated headlines in limited-overs games, including IPL.
Andre Russell tears apart KXIP bowling after getting a reprieve on no-ball in IPL 2019
KXIP were control of the proceedings against KKR in IPL 2019 as Mohammed Shami bowled dangerous Andre Russell for 3 with KKR score at 161/3 in 16.5 overs. But it was ruled a no-ball as there were only three fielders instead of four in the inner circle.
Russell went on to score a match-winning cameo of 17-ball 48 with 3 fours and 5 sixes as KKR posted a big total of 218/4. The last three overs yielded 55 runs with Russell scoring 44 runs with 3 fours and 5 sixes. Punjab tried their best but fell short of the target by 28 runs.
Punjab skipper R Ashwin took the blame on himself for the no-ball, and not passing it on to the debutants who were guilty of the no-ball.
CSK romp home on a no-ball against RCB in IPL 2013
On a two-paced wicket of Chepauk, Chennai, CSK chose to field first and saw RCB post a competitive score of 165/6. Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, the two pillars of RCB, combined to stitch a stand of 82 runs for the third wicket. Kohli scored 58, while ABD posted 64 as RCB believed they have the match in hand.
CSK kept losing wickets at regular intervals but kept ticking at the scoreboard. They lost their openers Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey cheaply, but Suresh Rain, MS Dhoni, and S Badrinath each made a cameo of 30-plus to keep CSK in the hunt.
At 137/5, CSK lost Dhoni on the first ball off the 18th over. RCB sniffed a chance. Dwayne Bravo then fell soon to leave CSK 20 runs to win off 8 balls. Ravindra Jadeja was the lone hope for CSK.16 runs were required off the last 6. And RP Singh bowled the most forgettable over of his career. He conceded a six and a four to Jadeja off the first two balls. But he then came back strongly to give only 4 off the next three.
With two runs needed for a win off the last ball, RP Singh bowled wide and short. Jadeja cut straight to third-man fielder and RCB and their skipper Virat Kohli erupted in joy.
But their joy was shortlived as umpire declared it a no-ball. Jadeja had ran a single to win the match for his team with a ball to spare.
Jadeja was named man of the match for his 20-ball 38* with 3 fours and 1 six. MS Dhoni later joked on social media that only ‘Sir’ Ravindra Jadeja could have won the match in that situation.
Jasprit Bumrah’s no-ball in 2017 Champions Trophy final
India were favourites against Pakistan in the final of 2017 Champions Trophy. They had reduced Pakistan to 10/0 in 3 overs when Jasprit Bumrah got a nervous Fakhar Zamam to edge it to keeper MS Dhoni. However, it was ruled a no-ball as Bumrah had over-stepped it.
However, the reprieve given to Zaman proved costly as the Pakistan openers put up 128-run partnership for the first wicket. Zaman, who was not even in double digits when he got the reprieve, went on to score 114 in the final. India lost the final by 180 runs.
Lendl Simmons reprieved twice in 2016 World T20 semis against India
Lendl Simmons was the luckiest player in 2016 World T20 semis against India as he was reprieved twice on two no-balls bowled by R Ashwin and Hardik Pandya. Simmons went on to play a match-winning knock of 51-ball 82* to steer West Indies into the final. West Indies won the tournament beating England in the final.
Simmons was batting on 18 when he was caught by Jasprit Bumrah off Ashwin’s bowling, but on a no-ball. On the second occasion, Hardik Pandya overstepped by a big margin as R Ashwin takes a catch off Simmons’ bat. Simmons was batting on 50 then and the match was evenly poised. But the two no-balls shifted the game in West Indies’ favour.
Suraj Randiv bowls a no-ball to deny a ton to Virender Sehwag in an ODI in 2010
In an ODI at Dambulla in 2010, India needed one run to win and Virender Sehwag was batting on 99. Sri Lankan spinner Suraj Randiv was the bowler. Randiv overstepped by a big margin with Sehwag hitting a huge six over long-off. Sehwag raised his arm in celebration thinking he has got India’s victory and his century with that shot. However, it turned out that the no-ball had helped India win and the six runs were not added to Sehwag’s score. Sehwag was stranded on 99 not out. Randiv was handed a one-match suspension for deliberating bowling no-ball.