Date: February 2, 2016.
Venue: Chittagong, Bangladesh.
Occasion: 2015/16 ICC Under-19 World Cup match West Indies vs Zimbabwe.
Equation: Zimbabwe need three runs of six balls with one wicket in hand.
West Indian bowler: Keemo Paul
Zimbabwe batsmen at crease: K Matigimu at striker’s end and Richard Ngarava at non-striker’s end.
Paul steams in to bowl the first ball of the last over. He stops at the crease before his delivery stride and whips off the bails at the non-striker’s end. Ngarava’s bat is on the line, but not behind the crease.
Verdict: Ngarava declared out Mankaded by Paul
Result: West Indies won the match, enter quarterfinals. They go on to win the title.
This dismissal evokes mixed reactions from cricket critics and fans. A ferocious debate follows as to whether Paul was right in dismissing Ngarava run-out or mankading in this fashion. Was it sporting on the part of the bowler to effect such a dismissal? The debate still rages on.
So, what is mankading?
Before releasing the ball and completing his usual delivery swing, if a bowler runs out the batsman at the non-striker’s end who has moved out of the crease, then the batsman is said to have been mankaded.
This mode of dismissal is named after former Indian player Vinoo Mankad who dismissed Australian Bill Brown in this fashion during the Sydney Test of 1947. Mankad had earlier dismissed Brown in the similar fashion in the same tour during a match against Australian XI. Mankad had warned Brown on that occasion before running him out. Expectedly, this type of dismissal received great flak from all quarters during the tour. Australian media accused Mankad of being unsportsmanlike.
Mankad gets support from Don Bradman: However, Brown Australian skipper Don Bradman defended Mankad’s action. “The laws of cricket make it quite clear that the non-striker must keep within his ground until the ball has been delivered. “If not, why is the provision there which enables the bowler to run him out? By backing up too far or too early, the non-striker is very obviously gaining an unfair advantage,” Bradman wrote in his autobiography, Farewell to Cricket.
What the laws say?
The MCC (Law 42.15) states that “The bowler is permitted, before entering his delivery stride, to attempt to run out the non-striker. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one of the over. If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon as possible.” However, ICC Playing Conditions states that the run-out can happen any time before the the bowler completes his “delivery swing”.
Post the mankad dismissal of Jos Buttler by Sachithra Senanayake in 2011 ODI series between England and Sri Lanka, the World Cricket Committee came out with a statement stating that the law regarding running out the batsman at the non’s striker was not against the Spirit of Cricket.
But Sunil Gavaskar wants it to be named Browned?
“I think it should be called (getting) ‘Browned’ because it was Bill Brown who was outside the crease. He was at fault, not Mr Mankad.”Our legend’s name should not be spoiled. If you want to call it anything, just say the batsman was ‘Browned’, not ‘Mankaded’,” Gavaskar was quoted as saying.
Mankaded appeal withdrawn
In February 2012, Indian R Ashwin mankaded Sri Lankan batsman Lahiru Thirimanne who left his crease too early continuously. Despite repeated warnings from Ashwin, Lahiru Thirimanne kept doing it and the bowler mankaded him. On-field Paul Reiffel and square umpire asked Indian captain Virender Sehwag whether they would like to go ahead with the appeal. Sehwag withdrew it.
You can watch the video of that incident here.