It was a fitting end to a tournament that had 38 teams battle it out and the two teams deservingly- Mumbai and Uttar Pradesh made it to the grand finals of the tournament. Uttar Pradesh who won the toss and elected to bat first looked well in the driver’s seat after they managed to notch up 312 runs on the board courtesy of a magnificent knock of 158* of 156 balls by their opener- Madhav Kaushik. 

But as the saying goes an injured lion still wants to roar, it was the 21-year old Prithvi Shaw, who managed to turn all the attention towards after managing to amass 800 plus runs in the tournament and at a mind-blowing average of 165.40.

The Opener once again made sure he delivered the goods as he played a fearless at the same time a well-controlled knock of 73 runs of 39 balls which laid the foundation for Mumbai. The chase was carried by wicket-keeper batsman Aditya Tare, who went on to score 118 runs and guide the Mumbai side to their 4th Vijay Hazare title.

Cricwizz brings you some crunching numbers and unique stats on the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021.


Mumbai after their success at this edition of the tournament meant that they claimed the title for the 4th time. They are joint with Karnataka on 4 titles each and make them the second most successful team in the Vijay Hazare Trophy tournament. Tamil Nadu have come out the best of 5 occasions and stands to be the most successful for that reason.


The 22-year old Mumbai skipper shattered the records when he scored a mammoth 227 runs against Puducherry in the Group D match-up. Shaw now holds the record for the highest individual score in Vijay Hazare Trophy beating the previous best of 212 by Sanju Samson back in the 2019-2020 season. The opener also now holds the record for the highest score in List-A cricket by a captain overhauling the previous best of 222 held by Graeme Pollock of South Africa.

Prithvi Shaw VHT
Prithvi Shaw (Image Credits: Cricshots)

Shaw now holds the 7th position in the list of highest scores in List-A and the only Indians ahead of him being Rohit Sharma (264 vs Sri Lanka) and Shikhar Dhawan (248 vs South Africa-A). Any guesses on who holds the first spot? It is the English cricketer- Ali Brown, who scored 268 runs against Glamorgan back in 2002.


Prithvi Shaw finished with scores of 105, 34, 227, 36, 2, 185, 165 and 73 in his 8 matches and his only failure came against Himachal Pradesh, where he was, dismissed for a score of 2. With stunning knocks and consistency, he managed to notch up 827 runs and he now stands to be the highest run-getter in a single season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the only player in the history to cross the 800-mark in an edition. Earlier, the Karnataka opener- Devdutt Paddikkal broke his fellow team-mate Manish Pandey’s record of 723 runs (2017-2018). 


Shivam Sharma VHT
Shivam Sharma (Image Credits: BCCIofficial)

One of the vital reasons for the underdogs- Uttar Pradesh to make it this far in the tournament was their bowler- Shivam Sharma. The 20-year old picked up 21 wickets in his 8 matches and finished two clear of the next best Arzan Nagwaswalla of Gujarat. The left-arm orthodox found great success in this edition of the tournament and his ability to contain the batsmen and add the pressure does make him a stand-out bowler. The record for most wickets in a single season belongs to Shahbaz Nadeem of Bihar who claimed 24 wickets in the 2018-2019 season.


Mumbai with the help of their skipper’s exemplary innings of 227* managed to score 457 runs against Puducherry in their quota of 50 overs. The team total is now ranked 4th in the list of highest team totals in List-A. The top three being 496/4 by Surrey vs Gloucs, 481/6 by England vs Australia, and 458/4 by India A vs Leics, the match also featured Prithvi Shaw, who opened the innings for India-A along with Mayank Agarwal. Both the openers put on 221 runs for the first wicket. Shaw was dismissed on 132, while partner retired hurt while on 151.


The 20-year old left-arm orthodox managed to rattle through the Bihar line-up by picking up 7 wickets at the expense of 31 runs. In doing so the youngster finished with the third-best figures in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The record for the best figures belongs to Shahbaz Nadeem of Bihar, who picked up 8 wickets for 10 runs against Tamil Nadu in the 2018-19 season. He also has the best bowling figures in List-A, Overall.


Devdutt Padikkal VHT
Devdutt Padikkal (Image Credits: Sportzwiki)

The Railways team were completely outplayed by the Karnataka Openers- Devdutt Padikkal and Ravikumar Samrath, who went to chase 285 runs without losing their wickets. In the process, they managed to register the second-highest partnership in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The highest in VHT stands to be that of Sanju Samson and Sachin Baby against Goa, back in 2019. 

Any guesses on the highest partnership in List-A cricket? The record is held by Morne Van Wyk and Cameron Delport, who stitched together 367 runs for the first wicket. 


It was the Group B match between Jharkhand and Madhya Pradesh, held at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore. Madhya Pradesh after winning the toss elected to bowl first hoping to restrict the Jharkhand side. But the flamboyant opener- Ishan Kishan had different plans altogether. The 22- year old scored 173 runs off just 94 balls, which included a staggering 19 fours and 11 maximums. With the others chipping in, the Jharkhand side managed to post a mammoth total of 422 runs. 

In reply, the MP side never managed to get going and were bundled out for a humiliating total of 98. The victory meant Jharkhand won the match by 324 runs, registering the highest win in terms of run margin in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. It is also the third-highest in List-A overall. 

This concluded our insight into the stats of one of the most prestigious Indian domestic tournaments.  Which one of them did you find the most interesting? Do stay with CricWizz as we thrive to bring more insights and crunching numbers.