India will play a full-fledged series against Australia Down Under amidst the coronavirus pandemic. India will play three T20Is, three ODIs and four-match Test series. The tour will start with the T20I series. India and Australia have played 20 T20Is since 2007. India have won 11, lost 8 and one no result.

They have had few thrilling encounters between each other. Cricwizz takes a look at few of those matches.

1) India beat Australia by 15 runs in 2007 World T20 semi-final

Yuvraj Singh T20I
Yuvraj Singh  Played a brilliant knock of 70 of 30 balls (Image Credits: ICCofficial)

It was the first-ever T20I between the two teams. Australia were the favorites as it boasted experienced ODI campaigners in Adam Gilchrist, Mathew Hayden, Andrew Symonds, Michael Clarke, Brett Lee, among others. While India were a young team led by MS Dhoni.

India chose to bat first, and made a huge total of 188/5, with Yuvraj Singh punishing the Australian bowling attack, with a knock of 30-ball 70 with 5 fours and 5 sixes. Australia were cruising at 134/2 in 14.3 overs with Hayden on a well-made fifty. But S Sreesanth bowled Hayden for 62 to give a window of opening for India. 

Australia then caved in, and were restricted for 173 to lose the match by 15 runs. Sreesanth bowled brilliantly for his 2/12 in 4 overs. Yuvraj Singh was named man of the match.

2) Australia beat India by 4 runs in 2018

Mitchell Starc Virat Kohli T20I
From left: Mitchell Starc and Virat Kohli (Image Credits: theCricketer)

It was the first T20I in India's tour of Australia in 2018. India elected to field first as rain was in the air. Australia innings was restricted to 158/4 in 17 overs due to rain. And India were asked to chase 174 in 17 overs after Duckworth Lewis adjustment.

India were bang on with the chase, with Shikhar Dhawan in full flow. Even when Dhawan departed for 76, India were ahead with Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik and Krunal Pandya to follow. The equation came down to 13 runs off the last over, with Karthik on full flow at 12-ball 30. But Pandya and Karthik fell at successive balls in the last over, and India fell short by just 4 runs.

3) India beat Australia by 7 wickets in 2016

Yuvraj Singh T20I
Yuvraj Singh (Image Credits: CricketCountry)

India were already up 2-0 going into the third match of the series. Australia were playing for pride. Shane Watson was the lone man standing for Australia, cracking a brilliant 124 not out off 71 balls with 10 fours and 6 sixes to help Australia score 197/5.

India began the chase brilliantly, with openers – Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan – contributing 46 runs off 3.2 overs. Once Dhawan departed, Rohit took over along with Virat Kohli. Both struck fifties but were dismissed before the death overs. 

With 51 runs required off last 5 overs, an out-of-form Yuvraj Singh joined Suresh Raina in the middle. Raina took the charge of going for the big shots, while Yuvi dropped anchor. 

With 17 runs needed off the last over, Yuvraj struck the first 2 balls for a four and a six. It came down to 2 off 1 ball, and Raina smacked a four to seal a memorable win, and a 3-0 whitewash over Australia Down Under. Raina scored unbeaten 49, but it was Watson who walked away with the man of the match award.

Cover image photo credit: Criczone