IPL 2021 is set to kickstart from April 9, with the opening clash between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore. It will be the 14th edition of IPL. The past 13 seasons had seen many ups and downs. The next edition promises great excitement, entertainment, and fun. Cricwizz takes a look at some of the unique stats of the 13 seasons of IPL.

CSK have not been to play-offs only once in 13 seasons. It happened in the 2020 IPL season that was held in UAE.

Rohit Sharma have won all the 5 finals he has led Mumbai Indians. His team defeated CSK 3 times, Delhi Capitals and RPS once. Mumbai Indians won two of the finals by just one run.

The lucky Karn

Karn Sharma IPL
Karn Sharma - Photo courtesy: BCCI

Karn Sharma is the only player in the history of IPL to have been part of three successive winning campaigns for three different teams. He was part of Sunrisers Hyderabad that won the trophy in 2016, Mumbai Indians in 2017, and Chennai Super Kings in 2018.

Since Ravindra Jadeja joined CSK in 2012, CSK have won only 1 final out of four. All three losses came against Mumbai Indians. The one final won was against SRH in 2018.

MS Dhoni needs to captain 12 IPL matches to become the first skipper in IPL history to lead a side in 200 games. He has led in 188 matches so far, winning 110, losing 77, and one no result.

Unlucky MSD

MS Dhoni IPL
MS Dhoni (Photo courtesy: IPLT20)

MS Dhoni is the only player in the history of IPL to have been part of as many as 9 finals, and 6 as losing finalists. He was part of 5 finals as a CSK player, and 1 as a Rising Pune Supergiant player. He also won 3 finals as CSK skipper.

Virat Kohli has 5 tons in 192 IPL matches, but he is yet to score a hundred in T20Is.

There have been 13 tied matches in 13 seasons, and the most was seen in IPL 2020 (4), including 2 super overs in a day. And the evening match had a double super over.

Andre Russell enjoys the best strike rate in IPL – 182.33 – scoring 8 fifties in 74 matches. The best strike rate in an innings is 422.22 by Chris Morris of Delhi Daredevils. Morris struck 9 balls 38* against RPS in 2017.

Duck tales

Parthiv Patel Rohit Sharma IPL
Parthiv Patel and Rohit Sharma - Photo courtesy: sportstime247.com

4 players are tied with the most number of ducks (13) in IPL history. They are Harbhajan Singh, Parthiv Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, and Rohit Sharma.

Suresh Raina has 102 catches in IPL, the only player to have crossed the 100-mark. The next best is Kieron Pollard with 90 catches.

Virat Kohli features 3 of the four double-ton partnerships in IPL. He shares the top two strands of 229 and 215* with AB de Villiers and the fourth top stand of 204* with Chris Gayle. The third highest of 206 is held by Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh of Kings XI Punjab against RCB in IPL 2011.

Cover image: IPLT20