IPL 2021's second half began with a thriller of a contest between the CSK and MI, in which the MS Dhoni and Co. got the better of the 5-time champions. The first half of the tournament has seen many cricketing actions that were worth watching. And the second half promises another power-packed action. There are some stats in IPL that are still unbroken. 

Cricwizz takes a look.

# Since Brendon McCullum cracked the first IPL ton in the inaugural 2008 IPL opener while playing for KKR, not a single KKR player has struck a century over the past 12 seasons. It remains the only ton from a KKR player.

# 263/5 remains the highest total by a team since 2013. It was scored by RCB against Pune Warriors in Bengaluru in 2013.

# 300-plus sixes - Chris Gayle is the only IPL player to smash over 300 sixes. He has 357 sixes. The second best is 245 sixes by AB de Villiers.

# 17 sixes in an innings – Gayle struck a record 17 sixes during his knock of 175 not out against Pune Warriors in 2013. That record has stood for 8 years now and does not look to be broken soon.

# 10 straight wins – KKR recorded a 10-match winning streak spread over two seasons in 2014 and 2015. The next best is 7 held jointly by CSK and RCB.

# 134 Suresh Raina holds the record of most consecutive appearances for CSK with 134 matches. Rohit came close but could not break the record. He is second with 133 straight appearances for Mumbai.

# 19 catches - AB de Villiers holds the record of taking the most (19) catches in a series in 2016. The next best is 15 by Kieron Pollard in 2017 IPL.

AB de Villiers IPL
AB de Villiers (Image Credits: Crickettimes)

# 973 runs and 4 tons in a series – Virat Kohli’s tally of 973 runs and 4 tons in 2016 IPL still stands tall. No other batsman has scored more than 900 runs in a series. 

# No one other than Virat Kohli has played for just one franchise since the first season of IPL till now and he will become the first player to represent a single franchise on 200 occasions when he takes the field against KKR in the 31st match of the IPL 2021.

# Except for 1 player in Karn Sharma, no other player has been part of three successive winning campaigns. Karn was part of the winning 2016 SRH team, 2017 winning MI team, and 2018 victorious CSK team.

Which of the records do you think can never be broken in the Indian Premier League? Do you think any of them are in a threat to be broken in this season? Do let us know your thoughts in the comments and stay tuned with Cricwizz for the latest and exclusive content on the most followed T20 event in the world.