In the ongoing IPL 2020, KKR captain Dinesh Karthik gave up his captaincy to focus on his batting, and keeping. The captaincy was then passed on to England limited-overs skipper Eoin Morgan. KKR informed that it was just a captaincy's swap, and Karthik would play the role of vice-captain.

This is the not the first time captaincy's swap has happened in the IPL season, and won't be the last time as well.

Here is the list of captaincy's swap in IPL history.

Foreign players dropping themselves as captain 


Ricky Ponting for Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma IPL
Rohit Sharma (Image Credits: IPLT20)

Mumbai Indians hired the services of Ricky Ponting to lead the team in IPL 2013. But Ponting struggled to get going as a batsman in the initial few matches. He then decided to give up his position as batsman-cum-captain for the better balance in team. The team management then appointed Rohit Sharma who was still struggling in international cricket then. But Rohit lifted Mumbai to their first maiden IPL title that season. He went on to lead Mumbai to three more titles, with 2 final wins coming by just a run.

Daniel Vettori – Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli IPL
Virat Kohli (Image Credits: CriicketCountry)

In the 2013 IPL, Daniel Vettori was the skipper, but his own form with the ball was down the hill. So, he took the decision to drop himself for the better interests of the team, and made way for the legendary spinner Muttiah Muralitharan to take the overseas player's spot. A young Virat Kohli took over the reigns of captaincy mid-way in the season, but could not lift RCB performance that season. In the 2016 IPL, he led from the front to take RCB to the final, which they lost narrowly to SRH.

Kumar Sangakkara drops himself for Cameron White

In IPL 2012, Deccan Chargers had a torrid time initially with Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara as the leader. Sangakkara dropped himself after 7 games for Australian cricketer Cameron White to take over as skipper. But it didn't change the fortunes of the team.

Indian players dropping themselves as skipper

Gautam Gambhir-Shreyas Iyer

Gautam Gambhir IPL
Gautam Gambhir (Image Credits: CricketAddictor)

KKR released their successful opener-cum-captain Gautam Gamhir ahead of 2018 IPL season. Delhi Daredevils bought him and made him captain. But a poor show with the bat initially saw Gambhir dropping himself as opener-cum-captain and handing over the leadership to Shreyas Iyer. Gambhir didn't play again in IPL, and retired from all forms of cricket later that year.

Harbhajan Singh replaces Sachin Tendulkar

Harbhajan Singh (Image Credits: Cricshots)

In the 2011 Champions League, Harbhajan Singh led Mumbai Indians to title win, by beating RCB in the final. Sachin Tendulkar could not play that tournament as he was not fit, but he was set to lead Mumbai in the 2012 IPL. However, Tendulkar had a change of heart and a day before the tournament, the 'god of cricket' decided to give up captaincy for Bhajji to lead the team in IPL 2012.

Few other instances

Anil Kumble replaced Kevin Pietersen in IPL 2009 and led RCB to the final, which they lost narrowly to Deccan Chargers.

Murali Vijay replaced David Miller, who went through a torrid time as skipper-cum-batsman for Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2017. But Punjab ended up in the bottom of the table anyways.

Darren Sammy replaced Shikhar Dhawan as SRH captain after the Indian opener could manage an average of just 21.50 in the first 10 matches of the season. But SRH failed to reach the playoffs anyways.

Cover Credits: IPLT20