Despite various speculations and obstacles the Indian Premier League is all set to begin in less than a month in UAE. The tournament is said to be conducted over 53 days, which will mark the longest IPL season ever to be played. 

With the T20 format heavily biased to the side of the batsmen, it is no surprise that even the best bowlers have had nightmare overs in their names.

Cricwizz takes a look at the top 5 most expensive overs bowled in the history of Indian Premier League.

1) Hardik Pandya vs Ashok Dinda (30 runs)

Hardik Pandya IPL
Hardik Pandya (Image Credits: CricketAddictor)

It was in the match against Pune Supergiants(RPS) in 2017, Hardik Pandya decided to go all in. The unfortunate bowler was Ashok Dinda. He was taken to the cleaners on 4 occasions in the over and with one of them just falling short of the ropes.

This was indeed one of the overs that showed the real power the 26-year old possessed and with that 30 runs in the final over the Mumbai Indians from a very modest score of 154 went on to put up a winning total of 184.

Over- 6, 6, 6, 4, 6, WD, B

2) Chris Gayle vs Rahul Sharma (31 runs)

Chris Gayle IPL
Chris Gayle (Image Credits: EssentiallySports)

Another list but the same name. Yes, The ‘Universe Boss’ makes it to almost all the listicles of Cricwizz and has been a stranger to us. The West Indian notched up 31 runs against Rahul Sharma in the 21st match of the 2012 season. 

The over began very quietly with a single by Saurabh Tiwary after which Chris Gayle took over the strike, he decided it was go time and clubbed Rahul Sharma all over the park despite Sharma trying different deliveries. It was the big-hitting of the RCB Opener that helped win the thriller of a match in the last ball of the innings.

Over- 1, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6

3) Chris Gayle vs Ravi Bopara (33 runs)

Chris Gayle IPL
Chris Gayle (Image Credits: CricketCountry)

Get used to it already. The 40-year old makes his way to the list for the second time and this time around he betters it with 33 runs. It was in the group league match against KXlP in 2010 where the Jamacian took Bopara for a ride.

Kolkata Knight Riders were given a stiff target of 203 to chase but the Left-hander made it look easier than it was. The over began with a single from the bat of Manoj Tiwary with the next four deliveries put to the tiers by Gayle. This put the English bowler under extreme pressure which resulted in him bowling consecutive wides with one of them going too wide and ending up in the boundary. 

In what looked like a tough target to chase was eventually chased down by KKR with seven balls to spare. 

Over: 1, 6, 6, 6, 6, 5WD, 2WD, 1

4) Suresh Raina vs Parvinder Awana (33 runs)

Suresh Raina IPL
Suresh Raina (Image Credits: Cricketlounge)

It was the all important Semi-finals of the IPL 2014 match when the former Indian left-hander smacked the KXiP all around the park. Being given a huge target of 226 runs to win the game to make it to the finals, the match was set up for Suresh Raina to go all guns blazing. 

The over began with a huge six over mid-on with the remaining all deliveries in the over being hit for boundaries. Raina was dismissed in the very next ball in the next over he faced which put the KXIP in the driver's seat again given the target was a huge one. 

Chennai Super Kings eventually fell 24 runs short of the target which gave KXlP their first title shot.

Over- 6, 6, 4, 4, 5nb, 4, 4

5) Chris Gayle vs Prasanth Parameswaran (37 runs)

Chris Gayle (Image Credits: Criczone)

Yes, you read it right. It is Chris Gayle, the Man who makes his appearance for the third time in our list. And, It is no typo, It is indeed 37 runs. The West Indian created history on 8 May 2011, the fourth edition of IPL in the match against Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

Royal Challengers Bangalore were given a low score to chase given the standards of the Chinnaswamy pitch and the left-hander looked like he was playing in his backyard. The over begins with a maximum with all the remaining deliveries going for boundaries. 

RCB eventually chased the score down in mere 13.1 overs with Gayle scoring 44 runs of mere 16 balls.

Over- 6, 6nb, 4, 4, 6, 6, 4

Cover Credits: IPLT20