What a thriller in just the 2nd game of IPL 2020 between KXIP and Delhi Capitals. KXIP looked down and out at 55/5 in chase of 158 before Mayank Aggarwal played a brilliant knock of 89 to take his team to just a run away from a win. But Punjab lost 2 wickets in the last 3 balls to see the match gets tied. K Rabada then took 2 wickets for 2 runs in super over to give an easy chase for Delhi Capitals. Here are the statistics of the match.

30 runs Chris Jordan conceded the joint most runs – 30 runs - in the 20th over of IPL history. Marcus Stoinis and Anrich Nortje combined to take 30 runs. Jordan shares this dubious record with Ashok Dinda of Rising Pune Supergiant who conceded 30 runs in the 20th over of the 2017 IPL match against Hardik Pandya of Mumbai Indians.

Chris Jordan IPL
Chris Jordan became the second bowler to concede 30 runs in the last over of an IPL match

10 IPL saw its 10th super over in its history when DC tied with KXIP. It was KXIP’s 1st loss in 3 super overs in their IPL history.

DC won their 2nd match in super over out of 3 in IPL history. 

3/15 Mohammed Shami of KXIP finished with his best IPL figures of 3/15

89 runs Mayank Aggarwal made his highest IPL score of 89 runs off 60 balls with 7 fours and 4 sixes.

20 balls Marcus Stoinis, who was playing his first match for DC, scored a fifty in 20 balls – the third fastest fifty by a player from Delhi Capitals or Delhi Daredevils.

49 runs Stoinis took 49 runs in the last 3 overs of KXIP innings – the third highest runs in the last 3 overs in IPL history. Virat Kohli tops the list with 57 runs followed by Andre Russell’s 50 runs.

Twice out for duck – Nicholas Pooran was out twice for a duck. He was dismissed in the match for a third-ball duck by Ashwin. He came back in the super over to be out for a golden duck. Both the times he was out bowled. Moises Henriques has achieved this feat for Sydney Sixers against Perth Scorchers in 2014 Big Bash League. 

5 The super over ended in just 5 legitimate balls 

2 It is the lowest ever score in a super over in IPL.

Photo courtesy: Delhi Capitals Facebook page