After more than fifty days of intriguing action and high octane matches, the Indian Premier League 2020 has reached the last stage. The IPL will come to an end with the grand finale to be played on Tuesday. The final will feature the four times champions Mumbai Indians and the Delhi Capitals, who will be playing their first ever IPL final.

The league took place amidst the pandemic and it was one stage seen as if the pandemic would take over the sport for a longer duration. But the persistence once again triumphed as the league was able to conduct with no obstacles and now we are at the end of the wire.

With the final to be played on Tuesday at the Dubai International Stadium. Cricwizz takes a look at the top five reasons one should watch the IPL 2020 final between MI and DC.

1) The first time Delhi Capitals play the final

Delhi Capitals IPL
Delhi Capitals (Image Credits: IPLT20)

Well, this is a very big occasion for any team irrespective of how many times you have done it in the past. But, It does mean a lot when it is your first time. Yes, the Delhi Capitals will be playing their first ever IPL final in their 13 attempts. The team has managed to come to the play- offs on four different occasions but could not make it to the final. 

Can the Delhi side claim their maiden IPL title? Or will it be the Mumbai Indians who go on to win the title for the record 5th time?

2) The first time IPL is played behind closed doors

IPL 2020
Dream 11 IPL 2020 (Image Credits: CricketCircle)

This is the first time in the history of the tournament the league has been played behind closed doors and also only the second time the tournament has been played away from India. The pandemic conditions meant the tournament had to be played behind closed doors and also the tournament was played without an opening ceremony. It was also announced that the IPL will not have any closing ceremony this year due to the Covid- 19 protocols in place. 

3) The race for the Purple cap

Kagiso Rabada vs Jasprit Bumrah IPL
Kagiso Rabada vs Jasprit Bumrah

We have reached the last match of the IPL and yet the competition for the prestigious purple cap continues. The match will feature both the men in question- Kagiso Rabada and Jasprit Bumrah. Though the proteas pacer has the edge here with 2 more wickets than the Indian pacer, it could be changed given the form of Bumrah this season. 

While the South African could also be eyeing the record for most wickets in a single season, which is currently held by Dwyane Bravo of Chennai Super Kings. He is 3 wickets away from joining that elite record and if he could better that he could set a feat which could be quite tough to replicate in the future by anyone. 

Kagiso Rabada leads the list with 29 wickets and Bumrah has 27 wickets to his name. Can Bumrah overtake the South African? Or will Rabada race away?

4) Most successful captain vs youngest captain

Rohit Sharma vs Shreyas Iyer
Rohit Sharma vs Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer- the captain of Delhi Capitals has already created a record for being the youngest captain to lead his side to an IPL final. But he could better that by winning the title and breaking the opposition team captain’s record for the youngest captain to win the IPL title. But the battle would not be easy for the youngster as he will battle it out against the most successful captain in the history of the tournament, who has won the title a jaw- dropping four times.

A record is certain to be broken. Which one could it be? IPL witnessing the youngest captain to win the title? Or the first team to win the IPL title five times?

5) The battle for the Orange cap

Shikhar Dhawan vs KL Rahul IPL
Shikhar Dhawan vs KL Rahul

Not only the purple cap is up for the grabs. The orange cap too can be switched hands in this encounter. The only person who is in a potential contention is the Indian and Delhi Capitals opener Shikhar Dhawan. The flamboyant southpaw is 67 runs behind the orange cap holder KL Rahul. Yes, he is a tough ask given the big occasion and the pressure. But what could be better than claiming the prestigious cap in the grand finale?

Can the KXIP captain stay on top? Or can the DC opener climb his way to the top of the list?

Cover Credits: IPLT20