Another successful chase by the Indian side and to make sure it is not just an unsubstantiated claim, the Indian side have now entered the record books as the team with the most successful chases in the shortest format. 

There was no doubt that the pitch at Sawai Mansingh was an absolute belter but both the teams choked at the death overs and it was the Indians who came out victorious, courtesy of the onslaught by the skipper and the Indian Mr. 360, Suryakumar Yadav.

With the Indians now taking a 1-0 lead in the 3-match series, the second T20I is set to take place this Friday at the JSCA International Stadium complex.

The win now ensures India have tied the H2H, with 9 wins for each side. However, the Indians hold a six-match win streak over the Kiwis when it comes to the bilateral T20Is. 

Can Rohit Sharma and Co. continue their dominance? Or will the Blackcaps bounce back to keep the series alive? 

Match Toss Time: 18:30 Local (13:00 GMT)

Match Start Time: 19:00 Local (13:30 GMT)

Match Venue: JSCA international stadium complex, Ranchi

Head to Head

Matches played: 18, India: 9, New Zealand: 9

Weather conditions and pitch

IND vs NZ weather and pitch

Team News

The decision to leave out experienced spinner Yuzvendra Chahal seemed a bit strange given his incredible record at home. However, the decision did not harm the hosts as they managed to slide the match in their favor. 

Given Axar Patel and Mohammad Siraj had a mediocre outing, it could be the right time to bring Chahal into the side. We could also see either one of Avesh Khan or Harshal Patel make their debut as Siraj maybe still recovering from the hand injury he sustained during the opening encounter.

The Kiwis would be happy with the way Mark Chapman has been delivering the goods. The visitors took a huge gamble by leaving out Ish Sodhi and having Todd Astle in his place. The expensive spell of Todd Astle means that the experienced Sodhi is likely to make the cut in this must-win clash for the Kiwis.

Probable Playing Xl

India (IND): Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel/Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj/Harshal Patel

New Zealand (NZ): Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee (c), Todd Astle/ Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult


The Indian skipper and opener Rohit Sharma was seen in stunning form and he would be kicking himself after his bizarre shot selection against the short ball saw him fall short of just two runs off his 25th T20I fifty. The in-form Mark Chapman is also expected to be among the runs.

Indian middle-order batsman Suryakumar Yadav, who was the top-scorer for India in the opening encounter, and Kiwi’s most experienced player in the line-up Martin Guptill are our two other must-picks for the clash.

IND vs NZ fantasy team

IND vs NZ fantasy team
Cricwizz fantasy team

Captain and VC picks

Rohit Sharma Mark Chapman IND vs NZ fantasy
Rohit Sharma (C) and Mark Chapman (Vc)


There have been just two T20Is played at the JSCA stadium prior to this encounter and both matches have been won by India in a convincing manner. Yes, the Kiwis have a good batting line-up but the Indian spinners have also been a threat at home conditions. Once again the powerplay could prove vital as the winner of the powerplay is likely to hold the upper hand. 

In addition to the fact that the Indian openers are in great form and spinners having been hitting the right areas, we feel this could be another comfortable win for the hosts.

Cricwizz predicts India to win the 2nd T20I and win the Paytm trophy series.


All the information on Cricwizz is published in good faith and for general information purposes only. The website does not make any warranties about the completeness, reliability, and accuracy of this information. The website will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website.