The Indians after a commanding performance in the recently concluded 4-match Test series will now take on the England side in a 5-match T20I series. The first T20I between the top two sides in the world in the shortest format is set to be played this Friday, at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. 

As per the latest rankings team, India finds themselves at second place in the ICC rankings. While England are at the top of the ladder. Virat Kohli and Co. will be hoping they can carry in the winning momentum from the Test series. The hosts have called in many of the T20 specialists which include the likes of Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, and T. Natarajan, Keeping in mind the T20 Worldcup this year.

England will be hoping they can leave behind the Test series and come strong in this format. The visitors have a very good reputation in the shortest format and it will be a task cut off for the Indians to continue their winning run. The last time the teams met in a bilateral series was back in the year 2018. The 3-match series went in favor of the Indians, 2-1.

The Men in Blue do hold the slight edge going to this series as they come on back of commanding wins in the Test series and their win against the Aussies in Australia too will boost their confidence. England too are no deficit in form as they too come on the back of a dominant 3-0 whitewash against the proteas. 

With both teams in exquisite T20 form over the last few months, we are promised an engaging and gripping series ahead. Can Virat Kohli and his men lead India to another series win? Or will the World no.1 team prove too strong to be beaten?

Match Toss Time: 18:30 Local (13:00 GMT)

Match Start Time: 19:00 Local (13:30 GMT)

Match Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Head to Head

Matches Played- 14, India- 7, England-7

Weather Report

The conditions are excellent for cricket as clear skies are expected throughout the course of the day and no rain whatsoever is forecasted. The temperature is forecasted to be hovering in the 28-23 degree Celsius range and the humidity at the peak is likely to touch the 30 percent mark.


The surface is reported to offer assistance to the batsmen but the spinners are expected to play the key role. With the match scheduled to take place in the evening, the dew factor could play a major role and for that reason, the team winning the toss should be looking to bowl first. We might be looking at a match of around the 320 aggregate. 

Team News

India have a power-packed side as they have included a number of IPL sensations in the squad. Given that KL Rahul has completely recovered it would be a tough task for the management to decide on the openers. Rohit Sharma looks certain and along with we could be seeing KL Rahul ahead of Dhawan, given that Rahul will be leading the Asia cup, the management will be looking to give him a few matches. The all-rounder's section is expected to consist of Hardik Pandya and the localite Axar Patel. 

If things do go well for the hosts in the first few matches, they could give the new inclusions- Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan a shot. As far as bowling is concerned, Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be leading the pack.

England on the other hand have their T20 skipper Eoin Morgan raring to go. He will be accompanied by the current World no.1 batsman- Dawid Malan. With the likes of Jos Butler, Jonny Bairstow, and Ben Stokes. The visitors will be out on a mission to restore pride.

Probable Playing Xl

India (IND): Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (C), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T.Natarajan/Shardul Thakur

England (ENG): Jos Buttler (wk), Jason Roy, Dawid Malan, Eoin Morgan (c), Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Sam Curran, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Chris Jordan, Jofra Archer

India vs England Fantasy Team

India vs England Fantasy Team India
CricWizz Fantasy Team

KL Rahul, Jonny Bairstow, Rohit Sharma, Dawid Malan, Hardik Pandya, Eoin Morgan, Axar Patel, Ben Stokes, T. Natarajan/Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jofra Archer

Captain Picks: Rohit Sharma (IND), Ben Stokes (ENG)

Rohit Sharma India
Rohit Sharma (IND)

Vice-captain Picks: Dawid Malan (ENG), Hardik Pandya (IND)

 Dawid Malan India
 Dawid Malan (ENG)


All the information on Cricwizz is published in good faith and for general information purpose only. The website does not make any warranties about the completeness, reliability, and accuracy of this information. The website will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website.