As per the latest reports, we study that the all-awaited ICC T20I World Cup has now been scheduled to take place in the United Arab Emirates and Oman, starting on the 17th of October with the final slated to take place on the 14th of November.

Although the ICC tournament was scheduled to take place in India, the increased number of Covid cases meant that the tournament had to be moved out of the second most populated country. BCCI are yet to officially address the venue change but that would be a mere formality considering the current status of the scenario.

Which are the teams that have qualified for the Mega tournament?

India earned a direct entry into the tournament on the virtue of being the hosts and that will stay intact despite the change of the venues. Along with team India, we will see other top 9 ranked teams in the ICC T20I team rankings make it directly to the tournament.

The tournament is set to be the biggest in terms of the teams taking part as we have 16 teams playing in the event. Along, with the 10 teams, we have 6 other teams who have managed to qualify for the World Cup by winning the regional qualifiers, out of which Papua New Guinea managed to qualify for the World cup for the very first time.

Teams that will take part in the World T20I cup:

TeamsMeans of QualificationBerthsVenue




South Africa

West Indies

Sri Lanka


New Zealand






Top 9 ranked teams in the ICC T20I rankings




















ICC Men's regional qualifiers








United Arab Emirates

UAE did not qualify for the tournament as they were defeated by the Netherlands in the first qualifier and they also were at the receiving at against the spirited Scotland side who managed to defeat the Arab country by 90 runs in turn cementing their place in the prestigious event.

Which teams qualify for the Super 12s?

As per the plan of the governing bodies, the top 8 teams make a direct entry into the super 12s and will not have to play the group stages. While the bottom dwellers- Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will be included in the group stages along with the 6 teams that qualified through the regional qualifiers.

Further, the 8 teams will be split into groups of two, where the round-robin format will be followed. Following that the top 2 teams from each group will join the top 8 eight teams in the Super 12 showdown. It would be very interesting to see how the Lankans handle this huge setback considering their rich cricket background. Will this motivate the team to relive their best moments?

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka seem certain to qualify for the Super 12 considering their experience at the highest level. But which of the other teams you think will make the cut?

How will the Super 12 be played?

The super 12 is set to have 30 matches which is expected to begin on the 14th of October, followed by the play-offs. The Super 12s will see the 12 teams split into two groups with the top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals. The round is set to take place in Dubai, Sharjah, and Abu Dhabi. 

The second phase of the Indian Premier League is also set to take place in UAE from the 19th of September and conclude 3 days before the commencement of the grand T20I league. 

With a lot of cricket action scheduled to take place in the coming months, do stay tuned with Cricwizz as we bring you exciting content and articles to keep you updated and intrigued.