Howzat Legends League Cricket is a professional cricket league for retired international cricketers. A selection of the greatest players of the game from India, Asia, and the rest of the world will be playing competitive and exciting matches at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Muscat, Oman, reviving the nostalgia and the timeless rivalries between them. 

With the 1st season of the League to be played on 20th January 2022, Over 500 million cricket fans are expected to watch the matches live through television and live streaming online. With the love for one of the most popular sports in the world spreading faster than ever, this is the opportune moment for the new fans to revisit the classic.

Jhulan Goswami, a living legend of women's cricket, has been appointed as an ambassador to promote Women's Empowerment initiatives by the league. Besides being the face of the league, she will also launch a special initiative to further promote women's involvement in cricket as Legends League Cricket announced an all-women match official team.

Full Schedule (All matches start at 8 PM IST) 

January 20, 2022: India Maharajas vs Asia Lions

January 21, 2022: Wolrd Giants vs Asia Lions

January 22, 2022: World Giants vs India Maharajas 

January 23, 2022: Rest Day 

January 24, 2022: Asia Lions vs India Maharajas 

January 25, 2022: Rest Day 

January 26, 2022: India Maharajas vs World Giants

January 27, 2022: Asia Lions vs World Giants 

January 28, 2022: Rest Day 

January 29, 2022: Final


India Maharajas: Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Badrinath, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Naman Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, Sanjay Bangar, Nayan Mongia, and Amit Bhandari 

Asia Team: Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kamran Akmal, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, and Umar Gul, Asghar Afghan

Rest of the World: Daren Sammy, Daniel Vettori, Brett Lee, Jonty Rhodes, Kevin Pietersen, Imran Tahir, Owais Shah, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Corey Anderson, Monty Panesar, Brad Haddin, Kevin O'Brien, and Brendan Taylor.

Top 3 rivalries to watch out for

1) Virender Sehwag vs Shoaib Akhtar

It can't get any better than this, India-Pakistan rivalries are the El Classico of cricket. When these two teams come to play, the world stops to watch. And these two players never backed down from the action. The Indian opening batsman and Pakistan opening bowler open with bat and bowl respectively at a breakneck pace, with an absolute fiery battle for the fans to witness.

2) Sanath Jayasuriya vs  Brett Lee

Another battle the fans can't get enough of is of the Sri Lankan and Australian Legends. Never known to back down from a fight, Brett Lee used to possess the electrifying pace to trouble any batsman in the world, while Sanath Jayasuriya possessed equally terrifying talent to smash the ball back to the boundary over the bowler's head. 

With intense battles through the years, this is one fight to watch out for.

3) Muttiah Muralitharan vs Daniel Vettori

Although there is only a clear winner in this battle, it will be interesting to see the most successful spinners for their era from their respective countries go head to head. Although the Sri Lankan spinner is a generational talent, the kiwi legend excelled in a land where the pitches favored the pace bowlers. 

With many more rivalries to watch out for, and exciting scenarios to be played out. The Legends League Cricket promises to be an absolute blockbuster of an event. With all the squads finalized, share your thoughts on the formation of this league and who would you place your bets to win the premier season.

Stay tuned with Cricwizz as we thrive to bring you all the latest and exciting news revolving around the sport.