With five resilient teams and 23 intriguing matches, we have now reached the business end of yet another global T20 event, the Lankan Premier League 2021. The final will be a rematch as once again we have the Galle Gladiators and Jaffna Kings to fight it out for the silver.

Last time around the Kings made easy work of the Gladiators as they managed to come out on top by a dominating margin of 53 runs. However, this time the Gladiators look a better side courtesy of their openers, Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka. 

Galle Gladiators would be feeling a lot confident after the comfortable victory against the Kings in Qualifier 1 and would be hoping they can replicate the same performance.

It will be the clash of the former Lankan skipper and upcoming contender for the slot, can the Jaffna Kings make it back-to-back title wins? Or will the spirited Gladiators spoil their party? 

Match Toss Time: 19:00 IST (19:00 Local)

Match Start Time: 19:30 IST (19:30 Local)

Match Venue: Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota

Head to Head

Matches played: 6, Galle Gladiators: 3, Jaffna Kings: 3

Highest run-getter in the fixture: Avishka Fernando (217)

Highest wicket-taker in the fixture: Wanindu Hasaranga (7)

Weather conditions and pitch

GGD vs JKS weather and pitch

Team News

Galle Gladiators will be more than happy to feature the same combination especially after the thrashing victory against Jaffna Kings in Qualifier 1. The form of veteran Mohammad Hafeez might be worrisome but his experience and skills are likely to cement his berth for this high-octane clash.

Jaffna Kings too are expected to feature the same playing Xl as of the Qualifier 2. The onus will be on the openers now after the brilliant show against Dambulla Giants. 

Probable Playing Xl

Galle Gladiators (GGD): Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Mohammad Hafeez, Bhanuka Rajapaksa (c), Samit Patel, Sahan Arachchige, Isuru Udana, Anwar Ali, Pulina Tharanga, Mohammad Amir, Nuwan Thushara

Jaffna Kings (JKS): Avishka Fernando, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Ashan Randika, Shoaib Malik, Thisara Perera (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chaturanga de Silva, Jayden Seales, Suranga Lakmal, Maheesh Theekshana


Galle Gladiators opener, Kusal Mendis is currently the highest run-getter in the tournament with 288 runs and he is likely to finish on top. Mendis along with Jaffna Kings opener Avishka Fernando are two picks that stand to be a no-brainer for this all-important clash.

Gladiators all-rounder Samit Patel and Jaffna Kings skipper Thisara Perera are the two other must-picks for this encounter.

GGD vs JKS fantasy team

GGD vs JKS fantasy team
Cricwizz fantasy team

Captain and Vice-captain Picks

Kusal Mendis Avishka fernando GGD vs JKS
Kusal Mendis (C) and Avishka Fernando (Vc)


Both teams are no strangers to this occasion. Jaffna Kings managed to get the better of the Gladiators in the last season, however, Bhanuka Rajapaksha and Co. showed that things would not that easy this time around. We expect a neck-to-neck clash between the two sides. The groundsmen have done a wonderful job to keep the pitch intact. It is still a batsman’s paradise. 

Expect a high-scoring finale but this time, the Galle Gladiators look on course to seek redemption and equalize the tally.

Cricwizz predicts Galle Gladiators to win the Lanka Premier League 2021 title.


All the information on Cricwizz is published in good faith and for general information purposes only. The website does not make any warranties about the completeness, reliability, and accuracy of this information. The website will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website.