India lost the first Test against England at Chennai by 227 runs to go 0-1 down in the four-match Test series. But there are still three Tests for India to not only level but win the series. In fact, India have won a series quite a few times after losing the first Test. Cricwizz takes a look.

1) India beat Australia 2-1 in 2001 

1st TestMumbaiAus won by 10 wickets
2nd TestKolkataIndia won by 171 runs
3rd TestChennaiIndia won by 2 wickets

India were beaten comprehensively by 10 wickets in the first Test at Mumbai in 2001. On the third day of the second Test, India were 232/4 in the 2nd innings after being asked to follow on. They were still 42 runs behind when they started the fourth day. Even the most die-hard cricket fans had given up. 

Team India (Image Credits: CricketCountry)

But VVS Laxman and Rahul Dravid had other ideas. The two remained unbeaten on Day 4, piling up a stand of 376 runs for the fifth wicket. India then gave Australia a target of 374 runs on the fifth day. Australia crumbled and were bowled out for 212. With the renewed confidence of leveling the series, India fought hard with a team effort to win the third Test and the series 2-1. 

2) India beat Sri Lanka 2-1 in 2015

1st TestGalleSL won by 63 runs
2nd TestColomboIndia won by 278 runs
3rd TestColomboIndia won by 117 runs

India had taken a lead of 192 runs in the first Test at Galle and looked poised to enforce a win. But Dinesh Chandimal played a counter-attacking inning of 162 not out to help Sri Lanka post 367 and set India a target of 176 runs. Rangana Herath then took 7/48 in the fourth innings to bowl out India for just 112 as Sri Lanka won by 63 runs. India then did a perfect turnaround, to post two back-to-back wins in the next two Tests to seal a 2-1 series win. R Ashwin was the architect of the series win, bagging 21 wickets @18.10 in 3 Tests.

3) India beat Australia 2-1 in 2017

1st TestPuneAus won by 333 runs
2nd TestBengaluruIndia won by 75 runs
3rd TestRanchiDraw
4th TestDharamsalaIndia won by 8 wickets
Team India
Team India won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2017 (Image Credits: BCCIofficial)

India were shell shocked when they bowled out for just 105 in the first innings of the first Test at Pune while looking to overhaul Australia’s score of 260. India didn’t recover from there and were also out for another low score of 107 in the fourth innings to lose the match by 333 runs. But India came back strongly to win the 2nd Test at Bengaluru and the fourth Test at Dharamsala to win the series 2-1 after losing the first Test. R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were the architects of the series win.

4)India beat Australia 2-1 in 2020-21

1st TestAdelaideAus won by 333 runs
2nd TestMelbourneIndia won by 8 wickets
3rd TestSydneyDraw
4th TestBrisbaneIndia won by 3 wickets

In the just recently concluded India’s tour of Australia, India were bowled out for their lowest Test score of 36 in the first Test at Adelaide to go 0-1 down in the series. They have had their skipper Kohli leaving for home post first Test for birth of his baby, while injuries to key players rocked India. 

But India, under Ajinkya Rahane, came out all guns blazing to win the next two Tests out of three to seal the series 2-1. A young pace bowling unit led by Mohammad Siraj and a brilliant 89 not out from Rishabh Pant in the fourth innings of the deciding Test at Brisbane sealed a 2-1 series win for India. 

Cover image: Rishabh Pant during the Brisbane Test. Photo courtesy: ICC Facebook page