IPL has seen as many as 12 seasons so far. Mumbai Indians have won as many as 4 titles, Chennai Super Kings have won 3 crowns, Kolkata Knight Riders have won 2, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals and Deccan Chargers have won 1 title each. So, which is the best XI to win IPL title?

Cricwizz bets on Sunrisers Hyderabad XI in 2016 IPL final

Here are a few reasons why SRH XI was the best XI to win the IPL title.

They are the only team in IPL history to win a title from the Eliminator

SRH defeated KKR in the Eliminator, Gujarat Lions in Qualifier 2 and finally RCB in the final, becoming the only team in IPL history to win a tournament from the Eliminator stage. 

They had the same XI with just one change in the knockouts

SRH stuck to almost the same XI in all the knockout matches – Eliminator, Qualifier 2 and final – with just one change. Trent Boult was part of Qualifier 2, while Mustafizur Rahman was part of Eliminator and final. It showed the confidence SRH had in their players to take them through. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL
Sunrisers Hyderabad winning team in 2016 (Image Credits: IPLT20)

Captain led from the front

When a captain leads from the front, the team’s morale peaks, and the whole squad combines to put up a match-winning effort. David Warner, as usual, led by example, and cracked 38-ball 69 to help SRH to a quick start of 63 runs in 6.4 overs. Shikhar Dhawan contributed his bit, scoring 25-ball 28. Yuvraj Singh also played his part, scoring 23-ball 38. And the finish was provided by Ben Cutting who slammed 15-ball 39 to take the team’s total beyond reach of RCB.

SRH bowlers and fielders kept on trying, and never gave up

SRH bowlers and fielders never gave up, despite RCB putting up a record opening stand of 114 runs for the opening wicket in 10.3 overs. The breakthrough was provided by Cutting who dismissed Chris Gayle for 76. And once Virat Kohli fell for 54, RCB chase fell apart, as SRH tightened the noose around the opposition. Eventually, RCB fell short by 8 runs.

Underdogs emerged victorious

SRH had just a few stars in Warner, Dhawan, and Yuvraj in the XI and had mostly youngsters who responded to the inspiring leadership of Warner to eke out a fairytale win for the team. 

From winning the Eliminator to the title, it was unprecedented in IPL history.

Photo courtesy: IPL Facebook page