Cricket Australia has confirmed the delayed tour to England will now be played from the end of this month and the schedule was released too. This will be the first time the Australian players travel outside of their country to play the sport after the Covid-19 set aback all the sports around the World.

The Australian government granted them the travelling permits to travel out of the country on Wednesday as per the reports of CA. They also mentioned that both the boards, ECB and CA have agreed to follow up the detailed Bio-security and travel plans as it is very important for the sport to be back in action and the Australian coach Justin Langer also mentioned the need of keeping the sport alive during the tough times.

“It is vital for cricket that we do everything we can to keep the game going in these tough times.We have a massive assignment ahead with World Cups, Test Series against India and South Africa and the Ashes next year. We can’t wait to get back into it again,”- Justin Langer stated.

Justin Langer and Aaron Finch
From left-Australian Head coach- Justin Langer and Australia's Captain Aaron Finch(Image Credits: CricketWorld)

The Australian team is traveling to England on August 23 post which they will play four warm up games. The teams will be playing a series of 3 T20I and 3 ODIs, the first T20 is scheduled to be played on 4 September.

The Australian was announced by the Board as soon the confirmation of the series was announced officially. The team will be led by Aaron Finch, with three players likely to make their debut for their country. The 21-member Squad was announced with the few surprising omissions being of Usman Khawaja, D’Arcy Short and Travis Head.

Australia’s T20 and ODI Squad

Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Match Details

September 4: 1st T20, Ageas Bowl

September 6: 2nd T20, Ageas Bowl

September 8: 3rd T20. Ageas Bowl

September 11: 1st ODI, Emirates Old Trafford

September 13: 2nd ODI, Old Trafford

September 16: 3rd ODI, Old Trafford

Cover Credits: DNAIndia