With the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League set to be held in 2022, the tournament will have a special place in the hearts of fans as we are about to see the second mega auction in the history of IPL.

Well, so today, we will delve deep into the specifics of the upcoming mega auction, retention policies, and more.

When is the mega auction?

The mega auction of the 2022 IPL is yet to be given a final date but it is expected to take place sometime in the last week of December 2021. The IPL 2022 is set to commence in the first week of April. 

Recap of some past events

Chennai Super Kings won the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League and within a month of the tournament's conclusion, two new franchises were finalized for the next season. One is the CVC Capitals owned Ahmedabad side, while the other is the RPSG group owned Lucknow based franchise.

Rules for the mega auction

The rules are simple and clear. Each of the eight existing sides are allowed to retain a maximum of four players. In this the teams have two options, first is to either retain three domestic players and 1 overseas or two domestic and overseas players.

The Right to Match (RTM) card usage has been scrapped. For the newly introduced franchises, they will be provided with an option to pick three players each outside of the mega auction IPL 2022. These players will be called "Special Picks".

Budget (all prices are in INR)

The IPL retention policies also has certain limits within which the franchises need to decide on players to be retained. If a team retains just one player then the limit is 14 cr.

When a franchise opts to retain two players, then the price cap is 14cr for the first choice retention and 10 cr for the second choice. 

When a franchise finalizes to retain three players then the caps are as follows. For the first choice, it is 15 cr, the second choice 11 cr, and the third 7 cr.

In the case of four players, the caps are 16cr for the first choice, 12 for the second, 8 cr, and 6cr respectively for the third and fourth choice retention.

Total purse value

This season, the teams have been handed an extra 5cr which makes their purse total increase from 85cr to 90cr. Not just this, the BCCI have also confirmed that the purse will see its value rising in the 2023 and 2024 season as well.

IPL Schedule

BCCI will be going back to the 2011 format where there were 10 teams. Now, two months won't suffice and that is why we are likely to see the teams getting divided into groups.

Players in each team

Every franchise can acquire a maximum of 25 players and a minimum of 18. No changes are announced yet.

Ipl franchises retained players

Delhi Capitals- Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant, Anrich Nortje, Axar Patel

Royal Challengers Bangalore- Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, and Mohammad Siraj

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, and Ruturaj Gaikwad

Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, and Umran Malik

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, and Kieron Pollard

Kolkata Knight Riders: Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, and  Varun Chakravarthy

Stay tuned with Cricwizz for more updates.